It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Redlining map of Newark, indicating most desirable loan areas in green (predominantly white a Jewish) a areas of city whose residents should be refused mortgage (predominantly black). Map also indicates corresponding areas of city slated for urban renewal a areas containing the greatest numbers of factories."
Searchable by city and date. Extremely detailed, large scale plans
of New Jersey cities and towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch.
Includes the size, outline, and often the function, of each building.
The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths,
property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Includes
maps of Newark for 1892, 1908-09, 1926-1931, and 1926-1950. Rutgers-restricted Access
Princeton has digitized its extensive Sanborn map collection. Includes maps of Newark for 1892, 1908, 1909, 1917, 1918, 1920, 1922, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1930, 1931 and the Newark Central Business District (CBD) for 1904.
Fire Insurance Maps from the Sanborn Map Company Archives : Late 19th century to 1990, New Jersey [microform]
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1992.24 microfilm reels
Detailed maps of 167 New Jersey cities and towns covering the period
1945-1991. These maps were not deposited with the Library of Congress
and are not duplicated in the set above. Includes maps of Newark for 1968 (Reel 15), 1973 (Reels 14, 15, and 16), 1987 (Reel 15), 1988 (Reels 15 and 16), and 1989 (Reel 14).
The Newark Archives and Records Management Center has digitized over 8,000 Newark maps, including individual street maps, dating from the mid-19th century to the present. Maps are indexed by street name and by date, and are available for viewing only in the Archives Reading Room. Morefrom the Newark Archives Project.
The Newark Public Library Cummings New Jersey Information Center's Newark Maps collection consists of about 500 maps and architectural drawings dating from the early 19th century to the 2000s. Some 350 of these are available online as part of the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.
1922. Boundaries of various Newark neighborhoods. NPL Digital Collection
Robinson's Atlas of the City of Newark, New Jersey. Compiled From Official Records, Private Plans and Actual Surveys.
Elisha Robinson. Newark, N.J., E. Robinson, 1926-1927. 3 vols.
Vol 1: Embracing the section
of the City North from Penn. R.R. Market Street and South Orange Avenue
to 12th Street to Central Avenue; Vol. 2:Embracing the
Section of the City South to Market Street and South Orange Avenue, the
Vailsburg Section and West to Broad Street., Poinier Street and
Elizabeth Avenue to City Line; Vol. 3: Embracing the Section of the City South and East
from Penna. R.R. and Market Street to Broad Street, to Poinier Street, to Elizabeth Avenue thence to City Line.
Detailed maps show buildings, dwellings and businesses, and indicate
building materials, ward lines, water pipes, sewers, and paved or
Dana Call Number: NEWARK G1259 .N5R63 1926
A Sight-seeing Tour of Newark, New Jersey
Under the direction of Ann Milne and Mildred VerSoy Harris. Newark, N.J. : Francis H. Budd & Co., 1933.
Publication of students of Franklin Academy.
Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY F144.N5S545 1933