The Newark Experience

African American Newspapers

The Newark Public Library has digitized their African American Newark Newspapers collection. The collection consists of individual issues of African-American newspapers published in Newark, including the Newark Herald, Advance, Herald Advance and New Jersey Herald News published from the 1930s to the 1960s.

The above collection does not include the New Jersey Afro-American, which was published in Newark from 1941 to 1988. Newark Public has the newspaper on microfilm, as does the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick.

Newark Black Newspapers Collection

Under the leadership of Leroi Jones / Amiri Baraka, the four newspapers in this collection – Black News, Black New Ark, Black Newark, and Unity and Struggle– were published between 1968 and 1979. The Rutgers Dana Library Newark Black Newspapers Collection is now digitized and searchable.

Detailed holdings:

Black Newark
Vol. 1 No. 1-3, April - November 1968

Black News
Published by: Black People of Newark
Vol.1 No.4 (1969)

Black New ark
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 1 No. 5 (April 1972) - Vol. 2 No. 14 (Dec. 1973) [Incomplete]

Unity and Struggle
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 3 No. 1 (Jan/Feb. 1974) - Vol. 8 No. 1/2 (Feb. 1979) [Incomplete]

Putting the Black Ink Back into Print: Black Newark/Black New Art

Jennifer Caroccio Maldonado. New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal 8(1), Winter 2022, 34-49.

On the importance of Black Newark and the subsequent titles, for the history of Newark and the history of the Black Power movement.

Ethnic Newspapers

La Rivista = The Review

The Center for Research Libraries has digitized issues from December 1917 to October 1921. After that date, La Rivista was incorporated into La Tribuna.

La Tribuna de New Jersey

The Newark Public Library has digitized their issues of the newspaper. 1975-2011 (Incomplete).

The Luso Americano, the Portuguese American newspaper, has been published in Newark since 1928. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center in the Newark Public Library has the Luso Americano from 1971 to the present.

Ethnic newspapers are a valuable source of information on the lives and concerns of immigrant and ethnic groups. The Cummings New Jersey Information Center has a large collection of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm which includes a number of ethnic Newark newspapers.