Research Guides: The Newark Experience: AIDS Crisis

AIDS Crisis

An Instrumental Case Study: Barriers and Challenges of HIV Prevention Programs for Black MSM: Tiesha Gunnell. (D.H.A. Thesis). University of Phoenix. 2021.; "There is a growing epidemic of HIV/AIDS in the United States amongst the African American community, particularly with Men who have Sex with Men (MSM). The sole purpose of this qualitative instrumental case study was to explore the barriers and challenges and how they influence their adherence to HIV prevention programs, of 25 African American MSM, 18-29 years of age, living in Essex County, (Newark, New Jersey)." Rutgers-restricted Access

HIV Prevalence and Associated Factors Among Men Who Have Sex with Men (MSM) in New Jersey, U.S., 2017: Peng Wang, et. al. AIDS and Behavior 26, 1652-1959 (2022); "This study assessed the HIV prevalence among MSM in the greater Newark New Jersey area including Essex, Hudson, Morris and Union Counties and examined correlates of HIV infection among those men."

Newark Community Project for People with AIDS Collection (1987-1990): Digitized collection from the Newark Public Library. The Newark Community Project for People with AIDS, incorporated in 1988, was a non-profit corporation organized to foster the humane treatment and care of people with AIDS and ARC.

New Jersey AIDS Collection, 1986-: Collection developed in 1986 by the UMDNJ University Libraries Special Collections staff to document the HIV/AIDS epidemic in the state of New Jersey. The Newark Archives Project has identified some of the Newark-related materials in the collection.

Above and Under the Surface: Needle Exchange Debates and the HIV/AIDS Epidemic in Newark, New Jersey: Luciano Baez. (M.A. Thesis) Rutgers University-Newark, 2022.; "Newark’s experience in dealing with the AIDS epidemic was deeply rooted in structural racism and neglect, and debates over needle exchange bridge the gap between antidrug discourses stemming from the war on drugs, and the stigmatization of people with AIDS."

The AIDS Epidemic in Newark and Detroit.: Hearings Before the Human Resources and Intergovernmental Relations Subcommittee of the Committee on Government Operations, House of Representatives. Ond Hundred and First Congress, First Session. March 27 and April 24, 1989. Washington, DC, Government Printing Office, 1990.

"Responding to the AIDS Crisis in Newark, New Jersey": Ric Curtis et al. IN When Communities Assess Their AIDS Epidemics: Results of Rapid Assessment of HIV/AIDS in Eleven U.S. Cities. Benjamin P. Bowser, Ernest Quimby, and Merrill Singers, eds. Lanham, Lexington Books, 2007. Available?

Statewide Focus Group Results: HIV Prevention Needs of Men Who Have Sex with Men (MSM): Ann Dey. Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University, February 2004.; Includes the results of focus groups at four agencies providing MSM prevention services in Newark.

A Tangled Pathology: How AIDS Became a "Family Disease" in Newark, New Jersey, 1970-1997: Jason M. Chernesky. Thesis (M.A.) Rutgers University, 2013.; "In reframing a problem that was predominately cast as a "gay disease" in North America, AIDS activists in Newark sought to highlight the growing prevalence of HIV and AIDS among urban communities of color. These efforts sought to direct national attention and resources towards affected "at risk" Newarkers by self-consciously portraying HIV and AIDS as a disease of the family."

AIDS is Just a Four Letter Word : An Ethnographic Study of Theodicy and the Social Construction of HIV/AIDS in Newark, New JerseyRutgers-restricted access: E. Lee (Eugenia Lee) Hancock. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Drew University, 2002.; In Newark HIV/AIDS is a disease of poverty. Uses oral histories to investigate the social processes that shape the lives of the Newark HIV/AIDS community. Available?