Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Newark Experience: Photographs

Picturing Newark

William F. Cone. Market Street. Photograph. Larger Image

NPL Digital Collections

Newark Public Library Digital Collections: Photographs
NPL has digitized almost 15,000 photographs, most associated with the city, from within its collections.
Berg Picture Collection (1960-1968)
Search or browse more than 2,800 digitized photographs, mostly Newark street scenes, taken by Bernard Berg between 1960 and 1968.
Mayor Kenneth A. Gibson's Publicity Office: Photographs (1969-1989)
Newark School Photograph Collection
Over 5500 photographs, spanning 1902 to 2019.

The Inner City: Camilo Jose Vergara

Newark: Tracking Time
Camilo Jose Vergara's photographs, some spanning decades, of Newark.
Camilo J. Vergara Photograph Collection
The Library of Congress has digitized over 1000 of Vergara's photographs of Newark
American Ruins
Camilo Jose Vergara. New York, Monacelli Press, 1999.
Vergara's photographs of inner city "ruins" include studies of a number of those from Newark, including South Park Calvary Presbyterian Church, the Clinton Avenue Trust, the Essex County Jail, Woodland Cemetery and Krueger's Mansion. Available?
The New American Ghetto
Camilo Jose Vergara. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 1995.
Includes esssays on the Scudder Homes, the Columbus Homes, and New Street and Newark Street. Available?

Helen Stummer

Photographer Helen Stummer has been documenting the lives of the poorest of the poor in Newark since the early 1980s. In addition to the below publications, she also has a number of photo collections online:

Photos from the Newark Project
Watching Children Grow
How Children Play
Rest in Peace: Urban Caring and Grieving
322 Irving Turner Boulevard
The Demolition of 322 Irvine Turner Boulevard (1997)

"Ordinary Miseries,"
Helen M. Stummer. Society 24(3), March/April 1987, 83-
Photo essay. Daily life in Newark's Central Ward in the 1980s. Available?
No Easy Walk: The Central Ward.
Helen M. Stummer. Exhibit curated by Thalia Doukas. Newark, N.J., City Without Walls, 1988. Available?
No Easy Walk: Newark, 1980-1993.
Helen M. Stummer. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1994.
Photo essay, covering over a ten-year span, focusing on one family living in Newark's Central Ward. Available?

Other Collections

Ace Alagna Photograph Collection
Armando "Ace" Alagna (1925-2000) was a Newark photographer who was also the publisher and editor of the Italian Tribune. Many of his photographs showcase Italian-American life over the decades, including hundreds of photographs of the annual Columbus Day parade in Newark.
National Child Labor Committee Collection: Newark
36 photographs by Lewis Hines of Newark "newsies" and other working children taken between 1909 and 1923.

William F. Cone

"City on Display: A Newark Photographer and His Clients, 1890s-1940s,"
Joshua Brown. New Jersey History 121 (1/4), 2003, 4-22.
From the 1890s to the 1940s commercial photographer William F. Cone created an extensive visual record of Newark. Available?
William F. Cone (1874-1966), Commercial Photographer
Finding aid to the collection at the New Jersey Historical Society. "This collection documents commerce, architecture, transportation and industry in Newark, New Jersey and the surrounding area during the early 20th century. It consists of over 9000 glass plate negatives (8x10, 11x14, 5x7 & 4x5); film based negatives, and slides. In addition there are several ledgers relating to Cone's business."
William F. Cone (1874-1966)
Photo essay from the Old Newark Web Group. Images; no identifying information.

Digital Public Library of America

Digital Public Library of America: Newark, NJ Images
Almost 1000 images, primarily photographs.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.