Research Guides: The Newark Experience: Baraka Archives

Baraka Archives

Amiri Baraka Papers, 1945-2014: Finding aid to the archival collection (219.5 linear feet) at Columbia University. The Amiri Barka Papers contains correspondence, writings, and the personal, political activism and teaching materials related to Amiri Baraka's career as a poet, writer, editor, activist, and teacher in the New York City Beat, Downtown, and Black Arts literary scenes from the 1960s through the 2000s. Included are manuscripts from Baraka's numerous books of poetry, non-fiction, fiction, plays, editorial work, and screenplays. The collection also features organizational and documentary materials relating to Baraka's university teaching and Newark, NJ-based black radical activism, as well as audio/visual material, photographs, and printed material collected and created by Baraka.

Amiri Baraka Papers: Howard University Collection (87.5 Cubic feet). The Amiri Baraka papers spans 1951-1988 and contains biographical information, writings by Baraka (including an original manuscript of The Autobiography of Leroi Jones and poems), journals, articles, clippings, books, memorabilia and research files.

Amiri Baraka/LeRoi Jones Collection (1961-1984): Newark Public Library collection. The collection (1 box) consists of 2 folders of photocopies of articles and clippings relating to Amiri Baraka (1964-1984), "A Checklist to Primary and Secondary Sources Related to Amiri Baraka" (1971), and 18 folders of printed material. The printed material consists largely of writings of Baraka published by the Newark-based Jihad Productions and other publishers, and material by others published by Jihad Productions.

Amiri Baraka Collection of Playscripts (1964-1986): Schomburg Center collection. Collection includes more than thirty plays and screenplays including such early works as "The Toilet" (1964) in addition to "Jello," "Slave Ship," and "S-1." Some of the scripts have been produced and published, but the collection also includes a number of un-produced and unpublished works. The collection consists of holographs scripts, some with the author's annotations and changes; typescripts; rehearsal scripts, some with changes; production files; and a photocopy of a galley.