The Newark Experience

When Newark Was Younger: First Shopping Centers

Miriam Studley. Newark Sunday News, February 12, 1950, pp.16-18. Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

The "Big 3" Department Stores: Their Life and Times

Nat Bodian's essay on Newark's major department stores: Bambergers, Kresges, and Hahnes. Part of the Newark Memories site.

Newark Department Stores Collection (1912-1976)

Small (2 boxes) collection of materials relating to the three major Newark department stores: Hahnes, Kresge, and Bamberger's. Newark Public Library.

Bamberger's

Bambergers: New Jersey's Greatest Store

Michael J. Lisicky. Charleston, S.C., History Press, 2016. Available?

Louis Bamberger: Department Store Innovator and Philanthropist

Linda B. Forgosh. Brandeis Series in American Jewish History, Culture and Life. Waltham, Mass., Brandeis University Press, 2016. Available?

"Bamberger's Department Store"

Paul Clemens. IN Encyclopedia of New Jersey Edited by Maxine Lurie and Marc Mappen. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2004, pp.52-53.

Department Stores and the Origins of American Broadcasting, 1910-1931.

Ronald J. "Noah" Arceneaux. (Ph.D Thesis), University of Georgia, 2007.

Explores department store radio stations of the 1920s and early 1930s, including Bamberger's WOR Radio.

To Market, To Market, or, Some Parables With Many Points on the Selling Power of WOR

Newark, N.J., Bamberger Broadcasting Service, 1936. Available?

Charm: The Magazine of New Jersey Home Interests

L. Bamberger an Company Publishing Co. 1924-1932. Available?

"Bamberger's Department Store, Charm Magazine, and the Culture of Consumption in New Jersey, 1924-1932"

John E. O'Connor and Charles F. Cummings. New Jersey History 102, 1984, pp.1-34. Available?

Dramatized Salesmanship: Playlets Produced by The Department of Education of L. Bamberger & Co.

Edited by Genevieve Gordon and Clarice Runyan Young. New York, Textile Publishing Company, 1928.

"Playlets may be employed very effectively in store and school classes to rejuvenate material which it is necessary for the the pupils to know, but which seems particularly dull in the usual repetition...Every store may find different occasions to use such playlets as these. In our particular store, we hae produced them in conjunciton with the graduation of a class in a two months' salesmanship course, and have used members of the class for the actors."

Bambergers Window, Fair Employment Practices Week, 1953

Photograph. Newark Public Library Digital Collections.

Marcel Duchamp in Newark

Hellmut Wohl. Burlington Magazine 145(1198), January 2003, pp. 36-39.

In January 1960, Marcel Duchamp installed a window display which included his Nude Descending a Staircase, no, 3 at Bamberger's department store. Rutgers-restricted Access

Counter Currents

Newark, N.J., L. Bamberger &Co.

Bamberger's employee magazine. Available?

Redeveloping Bambergers

Market Halsey Associates. 1995. Newark Public Library Digital Collections.

Hahne's

Hahne and Company Records (1897-1936)

20 account books and 2 payroll books recording the general expenses of Hahne and Co. Newark Public Library.

Hahne & Company

The Department Store Museum. Exterior shots; 1960s ad; store directory (1970s?); renderings of branch locations. Blog; includes reminicenses of former customers & employees.

Hahne & Company

History plus a series of postcards.

Hahne & Co. Ad

The Cranford Chronicle. September 9, 1904.

Hahne & Co. Ad

The Union County Standard. November 30, 1906.

Hahne & Co's 52nd Anniversary Celebration and Sale

Ad. The Red Bank Register. September 7, 1910. [p.2]

Urban League of New Jersey. Industrial Relations Department Report for January 1948

Department Store Project. Unsuccessful attempts to meet with the President of Hahne's Department Store to discuss "the exclusion of Negroes from positions as sales clerks in Hahnes." Newark Public Library Digital Collections.

Hahne and Company Department Store

1994 nomination of the Hahne's building to the National Register of Historic Places

HUD Case Studies: Newark, New Jersey: Renovating a Historic Landmark for Revitalizing Downtown

Regrowing Community by Reappropriating Built History: Adaptive Reuse of the Hahne's Department Store in Newark, NJ

Michelle Alixanne Bryant. M.Arch. Thesis. Dalhousie University, March 2011.

"This thesis explores issues of adaptive re-use, programmatic diversity, community centre design and urban renewal."

Hahne & Co. Case Study

Jennifer Spritzer et. al. Cornell Real Estate Review 18 (2020), pp. 52-59.

ULI (Urban Land Institute) case study on the relaunching of the Hahne's building as a mixed-use, mixed-income development in 2017.

Kresges

Kresge Celebrates Seventy-Five Years as an Institution

Summit Herald, October 4, 1945, p. 4.

Fox and Plaut Clothing Store Record Books (1870-1886)

Fox and Plaut was purchased by Sebastian S. Kresge in 1923 and renamed Kresge Department Store in 1926. New Jersey Historical Society.

Finding Aid for Sebastian Spering Kresge Papers, 1923-1966

Collection at the Bentley Historical Library of the University of Michigan. Kresge was founder of the S.S. Kresge Company and sole owner of the Kresge Department Store in Newark. The papers have been microfilmed and are available for Interlibrary Loan.

Honeycomb Briefs: House Organ of the L.S. Plaut/Kresge Department Stores

Available?

The Store for All the People: Kresge Department Store

Postcard, c.1925

Abandoned Stations: The Cedar Street Subway (Kresge's and McCrory's)

"The Cedar St subway was constructed in 1914-1916 by the Public Service Railway to bring streetcars into the lower level of the new Public Service Terminal in downtown Newark." History, diagram, and photographs.

Kresge Department Store

Photograph, 1941. Newark Public Library Digital Collections.

Urban League of New Jersey. Industrial Relations Department Monthly Report for November 1946

Update on the "Department Store Program." "Kresge's Newark, has now promised us to definitely hire some Negro girls as sales clerks."

Welcome to Kresge-Newark: A Manual of Things You Should Know.

Newark, N.J., Kresge, 195?

Employee handbook. Available?