The Newark Experience

The Dana Library has the following Newark student newspapers available on Microfilm:

Dana College Chronicle 1930-1935
University of Newark Observer 1936-1942
The Observer 1942-1953
The Rutgers Observer 1953-1975
The Observer 1975-1990

An incomplete collection of unbound issues of the Observer is also available in the Dana Library Archives.

Yearbooks under a variety of titles (Dana College Encore; Encore; Encore: Rutgers in Newark; Rutgers University Newark Encore, etc.) from 1937 to the present are available in the Dana Library Archives.

The 1937-1940 yearbooks have been digitized by the Rutgers University Libraries.

• Dana College/University of Newark/Rutgers-Newark
• New Jersey College of Pharmacy/Rutgers University College of Pharmacy
• Seth Boyden School of Business/Rutgers Business School
• New Jersey Law School/Mercer Beasley School of Law/Univ. of Newark Law School/Rutgers School of Law/Rutgers Law School

Dana College/University of Newark/Rutgers-Newark

Connect: Rutgers-Newark Newsletter

Published three times a year; online back to Fall/Winter 2000.

Rutgers University in Newark: A Century of Reaching Higher

Helen Paxton, editor. Newark, N.J., Rutgers-Newark Office of Communications, 2008.

History of Rutgers-Newark prepared for the 2008 centennial. Available?

A History of the University of Newark, 1908-1945.

Hugh Francis Bennett. Thesis (Ph.D), New York University, 1956. Available?

John Cotton Dana Library

Frank Kingdom and Beatrice Winser. Bulletin of the American Library Association 32(5), May 1938, pp. 350.

Announcing the naming of the library at the University of Newark after John Cotton Dana. Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers-Newark History

Brewing Bachelors: The History of the University of Newark

Harold S. Wechsler. From the establishment of the University of Newark in 1936 to the merger of the University with Rutgers University in 1946.

New Jersey Digital Highway: Rutgers Prepares for War

Digitized documents from the Rutgers University Libraries Special Collections and University Archives. Response of the Rutgers (New Brunswick) community to U.S. entry into World War II.

A Brief History of the Red Scare at Rutgers

Jan Ellen Lewis. "In the early 1950s, three members of the faculty were forced out of our university for refusing to answer Congressional questions about their possible Communist affiliations." Delivered to the Faculty, Rutgers University, Newark March 25, 2009.

The Cold War at Rutgers University: A Case Study of the Dismissals of Professors Heimlich, Finley, and Glasser Rutgers-restricted access

Thomas F. Richards. Thesis (Ph.D), Rutgers University, 1986. Available?

Rutgers From the Inside: A View of a Contemporary University [Motion Picture]

"Shows college classrooms (graduate and undergraduate), activities, and campus of Rutgers University (Rutgers, Rutgers Newark, Douglass) in 1966. Includes interviews with students who express their attitudes towards classmates, curriculum, and the transition to a state university." Available?

Newark Colleges Expansion Project

April 1959 map of properties to be demolished for construction of Rutgers and NJIT. NPL Digital Collection

Property Map of Newark Colleges Expansion Project July 1960

Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

Boundary Map of Newark Colleges Expansion Project [2/27/1961]

Map of area cleared for expansion of Rutgers Newark and NJIT. From the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

Electronic New Jersey: Social Protest in the 1960s and 1970s

Based on sources from the Rutgers University Libraries' Special Collections and University Archives.

Inventory to the Rutgers-Newark in the 1960s and 1970s Oral History Collection, 1990-1992.

"The collection consists of cassette recordings of oral history interviews conducted by librarian emeritus Gilbert Cohen. These interviews document the city of Newark and Rutgers University-Newark in the 1960s and 1970s. Sixty people associated with the Rutgers-Newark campus were interviewed including students, faculty, administration, and staff representing a wide spectrum of political beliefs and levels of activism." Includes links to online audio and transcripts.

A Report to the New Jersey Legislature Concerning the Recent Events and Disturbances at the Newark and Camden Campuses of Rutgers, the State University

Ralph A. Dungan. Trenton, Department of Higher Education, 1969. Available?

An Analysis of the 1968-1969 Black Student Disturbances at Rutgers University.

Nancy Winterbauer. Thesis (ED. D.), Rutgers University, 1980.Available?

The Black Student Protest Movement at Rutgers.

Richard Patrick McCormick. New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 1990. Available?

Factors Contributing to the Decline of Black Undergraduate Enrollment at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey: 1981-1985Rutgers-restricted access

Deborah Brown Bowles. Thesis (Ph.D), Temple University, 1989. Available?

What Does it Mean to be an American at Rutgers-Newark?

Omid Farza. A Newark Metro report.

The Transformation of Metropolitan Universities: A Case Study of Rutgers University-Newark and its Community Engagement Programs, 1967-2010

Diane Hill. Thesis (Ph.D.). Rutgers University, 2012.

"This study was guided by the following research question: How has Rutgers-Newark's commitment to community engagement evolved since the 1967 Newark disorders? The study revealed how community engagement can evolve within tertiary educational institutions in urban settings and, regarding the Rutgers-Newark campus, concludes that the following three major factors influenced the advancement of community engagement: leadership, vision and mission." Available?

Male Identity and Academic Engagement: Case Studies of Black Male Collegians at an Urban University

Jermaine J. Monk. Thesis (Ph.D.), Rutgers University Newark, 2016.

"This qualitative study utilized semi-structured interviews to explore the influence of male identity on academic engagement amongst Black males in an urban university [Rutgers University Newark]."

Undocumented Students in New Jersey: Exploring Validation Experiences at Rutgers University-Newark

Cynthia Nancy Sánchez Gómez. (Ph.D. Thesis), Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, 2023.

"By using a Critical Race Theoretical (CRT) perspective for undocumented communities and counterstorytelling as a methodological approach, this study includes the voices of 12 undocumented undergraduate students/alumni from Rutgers University–Newark, a Minority Serving Institution (MSI) in New Jersey that makes continuous efforts in serving undocumented students. Thus, the study explored how institutional support and experiences of validation influence undocumented students’ overall college experience." NOTE: At the request of the author this thesis is not available to view until May 31 2025.

Rutgers Oral History Archives: Steven J. Diner

Transcripts of a three-part interview with Steven J. Diner, Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences at Rutgers-Newark from 1998 to 2002; and Rutgers Newark Chancellor from 2002 to 2011.

FY 2023 Budget

University-wide, as well as Campus and Campus units financial summaries.

New Jersey College of Pharmacy/Rutgers University College of Pharmacy

The Rutgers University College of Pharmacy: A Centennial History.

Roy A. Bowers and David L. Cowen. New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 1991.

Established as the New Jersey College of Pharmacy in 1892 in Newark, the College became part of Rutgers in 1927. In 1971 the College moved from Newark to Busch Campus in New Brunswick. Available?

Inventory to the Records of the New Jersey College of Pharmacy, 1892-1942

Administrative history, chronology of events up to 1927, and collection scope and contents notes.

Graduates and Faculties, 1892-1992: The New Jersey College of Pharmacy, Newark, New Jersey and College of Pharmacy, Rutgers University, Newark, New Jersey and Piscataway, New Jersey.

New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, 1992. Available?

Stating the Case for Rutgers University and its College of Pharmacy.

Harold J. Johnston. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University, 1937. Available?

New Jersey College of Pharmacy, Newark [Image]

New Jersey College of Pharmacy, Newark, 1925. [Image]

Seth Boyden School of Business/Rutgers Business School

RBS at Seventy-Five: 75-Year Retrospective: 1929-2004

The Rutgers Business School--Newark and New Brunswick.

Rutgers Business School: History

Timeline

New Jersey Law School/Mercer Beasley School of Law/Univ. of Newark Law School/Rutgers School of Law/Rutgers Law School

"The Institutio legalis and Legal Education in New Jersey: 1783-1817,"

Don C. Skemer. New Jersey History 96(3/4), Autumn/Winter 1978, 123-134.

On November 27, 1783 six law clerks met in Newark to form a moot court society. The Institutio legalis was New Jersey's first experiment in organized legal education. Available?

History of the Rutgers School of Law-Newark

Created in conjunction with the Rutgers Law-Newark Centennial Celebration in 2008, this site includes a brief history, a list of the buildings in which the school has been housed since 1908, photographs and other excerpts from yearbooks (1927-1967), some videoed oral histories, and a history of the Rutgers-Newark Law Library.

A Centennial History of Rutgers Law School in Newark: Opening a Thousand Doors.

Paul Tractenberg. Charleston, S.C., History Press, 2010. Available?

Career Patterns of Black Graduates of Rutgers University of Law Newark, New Jersey

Oliver B. Quinn, National Black Law Journal 7(1), 1981.

Profiles 133 black Rutgers Law School alumni who graduated between the years 1971-1979.

Seizing the Moments: The Beginnings of the Women's Rights Law Reporter and a Personal Journey

Elizabeth Langer. Women's Rights Law Reporter 30, Spring/Summer 2009, 592- Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers School of Law - Newark and the Legacy of Elizabeth Blume-Silverstein

Kelly Timoney. Women's Rights Law Reporter. Spring/Summer 2009, 635- Rutgers-restricted Access

The Origins of the Women's Rights Law Reporter in the Civil Rights and Women's Liberation Movements

Diane Crothers. Women's Rights Law Reporter 31, Winter/Spring 2010, 190- Rutgers-restricted Resource

Rutgers School of Law--Newark and the History of Women and the Law

Fred Strebeigh. Women's Rights Law Reporter 31, Winter/Spring 2010, 220- Rutgers-restricted Access

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg's Rutgers Years: 1963-1972

Wendy Webster Williams. Women's Rights Law Reporter 31, Winter/Spring 2010, 229- Rutgers-restricted Access