Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Newark Experience: Cemeteries

Find a Grave: Newark

Newark Cemeteries
Search for names within specific cemeteries. Not complete.

JewishGen: Newark

JewishGen Online Worldwide Burial Registry
Four Newark Jewish Cemeteries, B'nai Abraham, Grove Street, Talmud Torah, and Union Field, are included in the JewishGen database.

Archival Collections

Newark Cemeteries (1936-2002)
Small Collection of miscellaneous material at the Newark Public Library.
GSNJ New Jersey Cemetery Inventory
The Genealogical Society of New Jersey has transcribed tombstone inscriptions from individual cemeteries in New Jersey; the collection is housed at the Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives in New Brunswick. Newark cemeteries include "Bowery Cemetery, Coeyman's Burying Ground, Fairmount Cemetery - Founders Crypt, Halsey Street Methodist Episcopal Burying Ground (interment records, 1839), Lang Street Burying Ground, Lyons Farm Baptist Churchyard (NJ Historical Society published Monument Inscriptions only), Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Newark (Old) Burying Ground, Newark "Potters Field" (aka Floral Rest), Newark Trinity Episcopal Cemetery, Old First Presbyterian Church Cemetery, and Woodland Cemetery."
Woodland Cemetery Records
New Jersey Historical Society

Trinity Cathedral Cemetery

Trinity Cemetery/NJPAC Correspondence
Correspondence relating to the disposal of the remains in Trinity Cemetery disinterred as a result of the building of NJPAC. Includes a report by Clement Alexander Price and Giles Wright on the significance of the cemetery with a list of Death and Burials Recorded for Blacks, 1806-1829 (including the death and burial of Jack Cudjo in 1823).
January 30, 1995 C.H.A.I.N. Press Release
Council for the Heritage of African in Newark press release decrying removal of remains from Trinity Cathedral Cemetery.
Invitation to Monument Dedication
Invitation to Mayor Sharpe James to attend the ceremony at NJPAC dedicating a monument to the memory of those buried in the former Trinity Cemetery.

Newark Cemeteries

An History of the Old Burying Ground as Contained in the Case of the Attorney-General Against the City of Newark, 1888.
New Jersey, Office of the Attorney General, 1888. Available?
National Register of Historic Places: Evergreen Cemetery
History; significance; bibliography.
National Register of Historic Places: Mt. Pleasant Cemetery
History; notable monuments; bibliography; maps.
Charter, By-Laws, Rules and Regulations of the Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Newark, N.J., Incorporated, 1844.
Mount Pleasant Cemetery Company of Newark, 1875. Available?
The Old Jewish Cemeteries of Newark
Alice Perkins Gould. Bergenfield, NJ, Avotaynu, 2004. Available?
No Stone Unturned: Newark's Grove Street Cemetery
Barbara Krasner. New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal 3(2) 2017.
Cemetery Abandonment: New Jersey Cemetery Law and Ethnic Population Movement
Kristina Poggi. Thesis (M.A.), Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, 2016.
Focuses on three New Jersey cemeteries, including the Grove Street Cemetery (Grove Street Hebrew Cemetery; Congregation Ahavas Achim Bnai Jacob Cemetery; Israel K U Vereain Cemetery; Newark Jewish Cemetery) in Newark.

Halsey Street Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery

City Cemetery (Potter's Field)

Excerpt from: https://caselaw.findlaw.com/nj-superior-court-appellate-division/1151885.htm

 In 1869, the City purchased fifteen acres in the southern part of Newark which became known as City Cemetery, and in the 1940's as Floral Rest. In present-day Newark, City Cemetery comprises about 5.2 acres and is located south of Haynes Avenue, bounded on the west by an unnamed public road and on the east by Bessemer Street. It is behind the Anheuser-Busch plant on Routes 1 and 9 and under the Haynes Avenue bridge.

In 1903, and on an unknown date prior to that, the City sold two pieces of the cemetery property to United Jersey Railroad and Canal Company/Pennsylvania Railroad (Railroad). MORE:

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.