Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jewish Chronicle (Newark)
Weekly published between 1921 and 1943. You can search by name, keyword, or date. Search retrieves headline; online access to the full article requires a subscription. However once you have the headline and the date you can also find the article in the microfilm version of the newspaper held by Newark Public Library.
New Jersey Jewish News: MetroWest News Archives
Most recent 2 years of the weekly available online.
- New Jersey Jewish History: A Bibliographic Guide.
- Ruth Marcus Patt. Rev. Ed. New Brunswick, N.J., Jewish Historical Society of Central Jersey, 1987. Available?
- The Jews of New Jersey: A Pictorial History.
- Patricia M. Ard and Michael Aaron Rockland. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2002.
- Chapter 2 [pp. 10-24]: "Newark: A Community Flourishes." Available?
- The Essex Story: A History of the Jewish Community in Essex County, New Jersey.
- Jewish Education Association of Essex County (N.J.). Newark, N.J., 1955. Available?
- Essex County
- "The Jewish history of Essex County is rooted in the city of Newark." Part of the Jewish Virtual Library
- Newark Jewry: A History of the Jews of Newark, Their Institutions and Leading Personalities.
- Isaac Unterman. Newark, N.J., 1939 [c.1934]. 2 volumes. Available?
- The Enduring Community : the Jews of Newark and MetroWest.
- William B. Helmreich. New Brunswick, N.J., Transaction Publishers, c1999.
- The basic book on the history of Jews in Newark. Available?
- The Jews of Weequahic.
- Linda B. Forgosh. Mount Pleasant, SC, Arcadia Publishing, 2008.
- Part of the "Images of America" series. Available?
- Hopewell Baptist Church/Temple B'nai Jeshurun
- Jeffrey Bennett. History of Temple B'nai Jeshurun, the Newark's first synagogue.
- Generations and Reflections: A History of Congregation B'nai Jeshurun, Short Hills, New Jersey
- Faith Joy Smith Dantowitz. The Congregation, 1998. Available?
- It Happened at The Beth: Great Moments in the Life and Times of Newark Beth Israel Hospital
- Jewish Historical Society MetroWest. 2005. DVD.
- "Linda Forgosh, curator of the Jewish Historical Society of MetroWest, gives a speech about the history of the the founding of the Newark Beth Israel Hospital, and the effect its opening had on the neighboring Jewish community." Available?
- The Workingman and the Synagogue
- Rabbi Solomon Foster. Newark, N.J., 1910.
- "The Great Newark School Strike of 1912,"
- Donald R. Raichle. New Jersey History 106(1/2), 1988, 1-17.
- In 1912 students of the Morton Street School and the Charlton Street School went on strike as a result of anti-Semitic remarks and behavior on the part of some teachers. Available?
- Jack C. Richer Papers
- Finding aid for New Jersey Historical Society collection. "Papers consist of letters Richer sent and received during his military service in World War I, and spans the years 1917-1919. The collection also includes various military documents pertinent to Richer’s service, as well as newspaper clippings and other memorabilia. Much of the material documents the experiences of a Jewish family in New Jersey during World War I. Elements of the collection are in Yiddish." A few of the documents are available at: http://sites.bergen.org/ourstory/Resources/ww1/sources/WWIDraft.pdf
- "On The Side of Liquor": American Jews and the Politics of Alcohol, 1870-1936.
- Marni Davis. Thesis (Ph.D), Emory University, 2006.
- "This dissertation examines the Jewish experience in the American alcohol trade between 1870 and 1936, and considers the specific social, economic, and political issues brought to bear by Jewish involvement in an increasingly controversial sector of the American economy...Drawing on a wide range of archival, published, and genealogical sources, [maps] Jewish participation in local alcohol production and purveyance in Newark, New Jersey; Cincinnati, Ohio; Louisville, Kentucky; and Atlanta, Georgia." Available?
- Jews and Booze: Becoming American in the Age of Prohibition Rutgers-restricted access
- Marni Davis. New York, New York University Press, 2012. Available?
- "A Commentary: The Jewish Experience in Newark,"
- David L. Cowen. New Jersey History 122(1-2), Spring/Summer 2004, pp. 68-72.
- Discuses two occupations that had special appeal to the Jews in the Newark area in the first quarter of the 20th century--saloon keeping and pharmacy. Available?
- Six Years' Study of Work of Committee of Service for Foreign Born
- National Council of Jewish Women. Newark Section. Committee of Service for Foreign Born.
- Documents the changing nature of the work of the Committee as a result of the influx of German Jewish immigrants between 1930 and 1936.
- Nazis in Newark.
- Warren Grover. New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, c2003.
- The Minutemen, a group of boxers and bodyguards from Newark's Third Ward Gang, and the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League, led by physician S. William Kalb, led the opposition to Nazi activities and recruitment efforts in Newark between 1933 and 1941. Available?
- Jewish Community Organization in Newark and Essex County.
- Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds. New York, 1945.
- Pt.1: The Jewish Population of Essex County. Pt.2: The Jewish Center Program of Essex County. Available?
- Report of the Survey Committee on Jewish Education, Group Work, and Jewish Population.
- Newark, Jewish Community Council of Essex County, 1948. 2 vols. Available?
- "Ethnicity and Employment: The Early Years of the Jewish Vocational Service of Newark, 1939-52,"
- Edward S. Shapiro. New Jersey History 106(1/2), 1988, 18-39. Available?
- "The Jewish Vocational Service of Newark, New Jersey, 1950-1980,"
- Edward S. Shapiro. American Jewish Archives Journal 56(1-2), 2004, 37-56. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Employment Practices in Selected Retail Stores.
- Marion L. Courtney. Trenton, New Jersey Department of Education, Division Against Discrimination, December 1956.
- Survey of sixty-four retail stores in Newark, East Orange, Montclair, Bloomfield, Paterson, Passaic, Elizabeth, Plainfield, Trenton, Camden and Atlantic City. Focuses on minority, especially African-American, employment but also includes statistics on the employment of Jews and Italian-Americans.
- Lasting Impressions : Greater Newark's Jewish Legacy.
- An exhibition in the galleries of the Newark Public Library, April 24, 1995-July 3, 1995. With an historical essay on the Jewish Community in Newark by Ronald L. Becker. Newark, N.J. : Newark Public Library,  Available?
- New Jersey Dreaming: Capital, Culture, and the Class of '58.
- Sherry B. Ortner. Durham, N.C., Duke University Press, 2003.
- In-depth look at Newark's Weequahic High School class of 1958. Available?
- Newark's Jewish Frontier: Weequahic & Its High School
- Linda B. Forgosh. Program sponsored by the Newark History Society and the Womens' Association of NJPAC's Cultural Legacy Committee. March 14, 2016. DVD Available?
- Blacks and Jews in the City of Opportunity : Newark, New Jersey, 1900-1967.
- Clement Alexander Price. 1994.
- Paper presented at the Jewish Historical Society of Metrowest on June 13, 1994.
- "The Whitening of the Jews and the Changing Face of Newark,"
- Roy Goldblatt. Philip Roth Studies 2(2), Fall 2006, 86-101
- Analyzes "the change in the ethnoracial position of Philip Roth's Newark Jews, their shift from Other to in-between and later to white, and then describe the changes that occurred in the city itself, or how a Jewish ghetto that provided that safety and security to its community later became the destroyed dead place in which it is portrayed." Rutgers-restricted Access
- My Networks in Newark: Women of Weequahic.
- Jessica Horne. Capstone Paper for Jewish Studies. 2004. Available?
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies