The Newark Experience

Rejoice: Newark's Gospel Greats

Barbara J. Kukla. Newark, NJ, 2011.

Calendar featuring Newark gospel musicians. Available?

My Fifty-Two Years in the Music Business in Newark, N.J., 1902-1954

Henry F. Mutschler. Illustrated manuscript in the Cummings New Jersey Information Center collection at the Newark Public Library.

"This typescript history...is filled with detailed accounts of the music teachers of Newark and surrounding towns, of music festivals, music clubs and societies, virtuoso performances, music promoters like Joseph Fuerstman, music in the schools, Works Progress Administration (WPA) music programs, theaters and vaudeville houses, and of the craze for movie theaters...." More... [From the Newark Archives Project]

Newark Music Festival, 1916.

Festival program. More... [from the Newark Archives Project] Available?

Radio Program for WAAM, Newark

Recorded April 12, 1928

Sounds of Music: The Dolores Collins Benjamin Story.

Barbara J. Kukla. West Orange, N.J., Swing City Press, 2007.

Dolores Collins Benjamin was the founder (1939) and first director of Newark's North Jersey Philharmonic Glee Club. Available?

The LIve Wire, Woody Guthrie in Performance 1949 Transcript

Transcript of Woody Guthrie's show at the Newark YM-YWHA in 1949.

The Live Wire, Woody Guthrie: In Performance, 1949.

New York, N.Y., Woody Guthrie Foundation, 2007.

Text, lyrics, photos and technical notes on wire recordings, as well as CD of the Newark 1949 recording.

Available?

"As Baltimore Goes, So Goes the Nation,"

Dan Kochakian. Blues & Rhythm, the Gospel Truth 207, March 2006, pp.8-10.

"Offers a look on the life of songwriter and producer Robert Banks in Newark, New Jersey." Available?

The Brick: Newark's Artistic Inquiry Into Urban Crisis

Sean Daniel Singer. Thesis (Ph.D.). Rutgers University, 2013.

Focuses on five Newark-born artists to show how close attentive readings of their work can reveal fresh thinking about urban problems. Looks at poet Amiri Baraka and novelist Philip Roth; jazz trombonist Grachan Moncur III; poet Lynda Hull; and photographer Helen Stummer. Available?

Choral Societies

Souvenir. M.G.V. Aurora Fest-Konzert zur Feier des Golden Jubilaeums, Freitag, 11. April 1902, Krueger Auditorium, Newark, New Jersey.

Newark, Heinz Printing Co, 1902.

The Maenner-Gesang-Verein Aurora choral society. Available?

Fest-Schrift zum Goldenen Jubilaeum des Maennergesang-Vereins Arion in Newark, N.J.

Newark, N.J., Arion Singing Society, 1909. Available?

Music and Politics

Live, From Newark: The National Hip Hop Political Convention

Niamo Mu'id. Socialism and Democracy 18 (2), July 2004, pp. 221-229.

The the first National Hip Hop Political Convention was held in Newark from Wednesday June 16 through Saturday June 19, 2004. The meeting included delegates from 20 states that put forth a five point national agenda that listed the issues and political demands of the Hip Hop Generation. Rutgers-restricted Access

Other Music Collections

Newark Music Collection, 1850-2000.

Newark Public Library collection (Main N.J. Ref. MG NWK Music). Primarily concert programs plus sheet music, organization minutes, receipts, etc.

Musicians Guild of Essex County Records, 1901-ca. 1983.

"Office files of the Musicians Guild of Essex County...Membership included musicians playing with bands and groups, individual performers, members of classical orchestras, and others. Several boxes consist of routine material such as copies of recording contracts, insurance policies, utility bills, mailings from the national union (based in New York City), benefit fund records, ledgers, etc. Other portions of the collection are rich in details of union history (including intra-union conflicts) and the lives and careers of individual musicians." More from the Newark Archives Projects