Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Newark Experience: Insurance

Videos

Insurance: Putting Newark on the Map
Charysse Tia Harper, director. North Hills, CA, Xplore the World, 2016. Documentary exploring the insurance sector's development on the city of Newark, New Jersey. Available?

Newark Insurance Companies

American Insurance Company

Charter of the American Mutual Fire & Marine Insurance Company, at Newark, N.J., With an Address to the Public, Class of Hazards, Conditions of Insurance, &c.
Newark, N.J., Printed by Small & Ackerman, 1846. Available?
An American Portrait
William Barton Marsh. Newark, N.J., American Insurance Co., 1946. Available?
American Insurance Company
A.M. Best Insurance Reports, Fire and Marine (1919).
Manuscript Group 434, American Insurance Company, Newark, New Jersey
Finding Aid to a 5-volume collection of record books (1846-1893) at the New Jersey Historical Society. "Financial records, minutes of the finance committee, and records of persons and properties insured.
American Insurance Company Building
Data and photos of the American Insurance Company Building (15 Washington Street).

Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company

Since 1845: A History of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company.
Mildred F. Stone. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 1957. Available?
Down the Years: A History of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, 1845 to 1932.
William Rankin Ward and Mildred F. Stone. Camden, N.J., The Haddon Craftsman, 1932. Available?
Nonforfeiture System of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company of Newark, N.J.
Newark, N.J., Mutual Benefit Life, 1879.
Explaining the new policy.
Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company Records (1845-1983)
160 bound volumes of records, as well as company magazines and newsletters.
Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company Collection (1845-ca. 1990)
Material compiled by Mildred F. Stone, the company's first woman executive, including pamphlets, clippings, photographs, newsletters, annual reports, biographical files, and exhibit materials.
Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, Newark, NJ Record Book (1845)
A copy of the original by-laws and an organizational directory.
Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Building, 1941.
Photograph. Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

Prudential Insurance Company of America

Prudential
Prudential web site.
Prudential's History: Timeline
The Prudential Insurance Company of America
Entry from the International Directory of Company Histories, Chicago, St. James Press, vol. 30 (2000).
The Prudential Insurance Company of America
Newark, N.J., Prudential Insurance Company, 1892.
Collection of views of the Prudential Insurance building erected in Newark in 1892. Available?
History of the Prudential Insurance Company of America (Industrial Insurance) 1875-1900.
Frederick L. Hoffman. Newark, N.J., Prudential Press, 1900.
"This work has been prepared at the request of the United States Commissioner to the Paris Exposition of 1900, as part of an exhibit of charts, diagrams and statistics illustrating fully the methods and results of Industrial insurance in the United States..."
Fifty Years of the Prudential: The History of a Business Charged with Public Interest, 1875-1925.
William Starr Myers. Newark, N.J., Prudential, 1927. Available?
The Prudential: A Story of Human Security.
Earl Chapin May and Will Oursler. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1950. Available?
Security with Opportunity and Freedom, a Brief History of the Prudential Insurance Company of America, 1875-1950.
Carrol Meteer Shanks. New York, Newcomen Society in North America, 1950. Available?
From Three Cents a Week...: The Story of the Prudential Insurance Company of America.
William H.A. Carr. Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall, 1975. Available?
Future Directions: Statement to the Prudential Officers' Council
Robert A. Beck. Newark, N.J., Prudential Insurance Company of America, 1978.
Robert A. Beck's first major statement as Prudential Chairman and CEO. Available?
The Power of a Story: Voices of Prudential and its People
Chicago, IL, Harcourt, Inc., 2001.
History of Prudential at 125--Heavily illustrated and interwoven with stories from employees. Available?
Prudential Insurance Company Home Office Collection (1875-1950)
Archival collection at the New Jersey Historical Society.
Newark Insurance Companies Collection (1827-1950)
Archival collection at the Newark Public Library; most of the collection relates to the Prudential.
Manuscript Group 1511: Robert A. Beck (b.1925), Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of the Prudential Insurance Company of America Papers, 1950-1986
Archival collection at the New Jersey Historical Society.
Online Books by the Prudential Insurance Company of America
From the "Online Books Page" at the University of Pennsylvania.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.