The Newark Experience

Puerto Ricans

The Puerto Rican in New Jersey; His Present Status, July, 1955.

New Jersey. Division on Civil Rights. Newark, 1955. Available?

Problems Associated With the Assimilation of Puerto Ricans into American Industry with Particular Reference to Employment in New Jersey

Thomas F. Ryan. Thesis (M.A.). Newark State College, 1969. Rutgers-restricted Access

Venceremos! Harambee!: A Black & Puerto Rican Union?

Lauren O'Brien. New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal 4(1), 2018, pp. 130-146.

"In November of 1969, 2,700 members of Newark’s African American and Puerto Rican community assembled at the Black and Puerto Rican Political Convention to mobilize and strategize a plan to gain socio-political power...Newark’s communities of color resolved that the election of the city’s first Black mayor would provide a solution to many of their problems. Accordingly, the election of Kenneth Gibson validated the communities’ unified efforts and symbolized one of the most successful multiracial coalitions in Newark’s history...[However]...for many Puerto Ricans, Gibson’s victory was the impetus for a major rift between Puerto Ricans and African Americans."

The Puerto Ricans in Newark, N.J..

Hilda A. Hidalgo. Newark, Aspira, 1971. Available?

"Newark Seven Years Later: ¡Unidad Y Lucha!"

Imamu Amiri Baraka. Monthly Review 26(8), Jan. 1975, pp. 16-24.

Causes of the Puerto Rican Labor Day riot, September 2, 1974.

Newark's 1974 Puerto Rican Riots Through Oral Histories

Nicole Torres. New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal 4(2) 2018 pp. 212-229.

"This article includes contents of recorded oral histories from Sigfredo Carrion, William Sanchez, Gustav Heninburg, and Raul Davila recounting the events that took place in Branch Brook Park in 1974; events also known as the Puerto Rican Riots...The results of this uprising led to the creation of local organizations, such as La Casa de Don Pedro, and the construction of a more visible Puerto Rican identity with-in the city."

"Urban Erotics and Racial Affect in a Neoliberal 'Racial Democracy': Brazilian and Puerto Rican Youth in Newark, New Jersey,"

Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas. Identities 16(5), September 2009, pp.513-547. Rutgers-restricted Access

"Becoming American, Becoming Black? Urban Competency, Racialized Spaces, and the Politics of Citizenship among Brazilian and Puerto Rican Youth in Newark,"

Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas. Identities: Global Studies in Culture and Power 14, 2007, 85-109.

"This essay examines the performance of 'race,' particularly the appropriation of 'Blackness,' among U.S.-born Latinos and Latin American migrants in two neighborhoods in Newark, New Jersey." Rutgers-restricted Access

Latin Caribbean

Immigrant Entrepreneurship, Institutional Logics, and Informality: A Study of Entrepreneurs and Urban Entrepreneurship Policy in Newark, New Jersey

Lutisha S. Vickerie. (Ph.D. Thesis) Rutgers University--Newark, 2018.

"This qualitative study profiles the way immigrant entrepreneurs from African and Caribbean countries navigate a different institutional environment than their home country."

Latinos

"Between a Roth and a Baraka: Researching and Writing the Latino History of Newark, New Jersey"

John Gutierrez. Three Historians: John Gutierrez, Mark Krasovic, and Julia Rabig. Newark History Society program, June 22, 2009.

Presencia Nueva: Knowledge for Service and Hope: A Study of Hispanics in the Archdiocese of Newark.

Newark, N.J., Archdiocese of Newark Office of Research and Planning, 1988. Available?

Cuban Social Circle of Newark

1970s? Photographs.

Fitting Into a More Appealing Diaspora than My Own: Positioning Ecuadorian and Honduran Migrants Within the Newark-Area, Portuguese-centric Diaspora Community of Newark, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Anne Ambler Schluter. Lingua 263, November 2021, 102810.

"Set within the metropolitan area of Newark, New Jersey, U.S.A., this paper outlines a novel example of language and diasporic belonging by focusing on Ecuadorian and Honduran migrants who orient to the local Portuguese-centric diaspora, a group that reflects neither their ethnolinguistic heritage nor the regionally dominant culture." Rutgers-restricted Access

"The Effects of Centralized Government Authority on Black and Latino Political Empowerment"

Domingo Morel. Political Research Quarterly 69(2), June 2016, pp. 347-360.

"To assess the effects of centralized government on political empowerment among racial minorities, this article examines how state takeovers of local school districts have affected black and Latino descriptive representation on local school boards. Using an original dataset of state takeovers of local school districts from 1989 to 2013, as well as case study analysis of Newark, New Jersey, this article shows that centralization affects communities differently according to the level of political empowerment they have at the time of centralization." Rutgers-restricted Access

Negotiating Digital Marginalization: Immigrants, Computers, and the Adult Learning Classroom

Camille Reyes. Atlantic Journal of Communication 30(1), January-March 2022, pp. 1-12

"The discourse of the digital divide continues to shift from questions of physical access to questions of empowerment and equality. Implicit in this shift is the need to make sense of technology use within marginalized communities, prompting the central question of this study: What happens to marginalized individuals after they gain digital access, and importantly, training? To explore this question, I observed and assisted a group of 18 mostly transnational, Latina individuals during a five-month long computer class in Newark, New Jersey." Rutgers-restricted Access

Recent Brazilian Immigrants to the United States: Human Service Needs and Help-seeking Behavior Rutgers-restricted access

David B. Sacks. Thesis (Psy.D.), Rutgers University, 1993. Available?

Um ministerio de consolo: projeto de capacitacao para atender a comunidade luso-brasileira em Newark, N.J./A Ministry of Comfort: An Equipping Project to Care for the Luso-Brazilian Community in Newark, NJ Rutgers-restricted access

Valdir Alves dos Reis. Thesis (D.Min.), Drew University, 2008. Available?

Stirring the Melting Pot: Food and the Performance of Inclusion in Newark's Ironbound Neighborhood Rutgers-restricted access

Lori Danielle Barcliff Baptista. Thesis (Ph.D.), Northwestern University, 2009. Available?

Salsa and Everyday Life: Music and CommunityRutgers-restricted access

Robert Eric Siebert. Thesis (Ph.D.), State University of New York, 2010. Available?

Street Therapists: Race, Affect, and Neoliberal Personhood in Latino Newark.

Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas. Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 2012. Available?

"Urban Erotics and Racial Affect in a Neoliberal 'Racial Democracy': Brazilian and Puerto Rican Youth in Newark, New Jersey,"

Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas. Identities 16(5), September 2009, pp.513-547. Rutgers-restricted Access

"Becoming American, Becoming Black? Urban Competency, Racialized Spaces, and the Politics of Citizenship among Brazilian and Puerto Rican Youth in Newark,"

Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas. Identities: Global Studies in Culture and Power 14, 2007, 85-109.

"This essay examines the performance of 'race,' particularly the appropriation of 'Blackness,' among U.S.-born Latinos and Latin American migrants in two neighborhoods in Newark, New Jersey." Rutgers-restricted Access

The Global Financial Crisis and the Retrenchment of Multiculturalism and Economic Opportunities for Brazilian Immigrants in Newark, New Jersey

Simone Buechler. Latino Studies 12, 2014, pp. 596-619

"This article examines the relatively recent celebration of multiculturalism as a promising part of the neoliberal agenda in Newark and how during a time of economic crisis immigrants have become the scapegoats for a neoliberal model gone awry." Rutgers-restricted Access

Queering Political Economy in Neoliberal Ironbound Newark: Subjectivity and Spacemaking among Brazilian Queer Immigrant Men

Yamil Avivi. Dialogo 18(2), 2015, pp. 105-118.

"This ethnographic account employs textual and spatial-temporal analysis to generate an alternative narrative of gay/queer life and groupings in the Ironbound." Rutgers-restricted Access

Betina Botox and Lobixomen "Tao Engranados!" Queer Brazilian Televisual Representations Shaping Spatial (Im)possibilities in Newark

Yamil Avivi Garcia. Bilingual Review 33(4), January 2017, pp. 45-59.

"This ethnographic essay examines the ways two “tão engraçados” [very humorous] televisual Brazilian queer representations—those of Betina Botox (a questionably-middle-class gay male from Sāo Paulo) and Lobixomen (a heterosexual man who turns into a wolf in drag under a full moon)—impacted queer Brazilian informants who lived in the Ironbound..." Rutgers-restricted Access

Latino Oral History Collection

Collection compiled by the New Jersey Hispanic Resource and Information Center (NJHRIC) at the Newark Public Library. The 21 digitized interviews are all related to Newark.

Latino Oral History: Justice

Ten oral history excerpts focused on the theme of justice, as expressed through the life experiences from prominent Latinos who have focused their efforts in the state of New Jersey, many of them in Newark.

La Tribuna de New Jersey

The Newark Public Library has digitized their issues of the newspaper. 1975-2011 (Incomplete).

The Newark News clippings file has about 85 articles on Puerto Ricans in Newark going back to 1954.

The Newark Public Library has microfilmed the Newark News files; Dana Library has microfilm for a portion of the collection. The articles on Puerto Ricans are on Reel N-45, in the Dana Newark Collection.

New Jersey Hispanic Research and Information Center.
Research Center at the Newark Public Library. Includes the Latino Oral History Collections as well as the Puerto Rican Community Archives, a collection of primary resources on the history and culture of New Jersey's Puerto Rican community.