Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Newark Experience: Banks and Banking

Current Newark-based Banks

Archival Collection

Donald M. Karp Collection of U.S. Bank Reports (1926-2009)
Newark Public Library collection. "The collection consists of records from 384 banks in the United States, of which 194 are banks in New Jersey. The materials are filed in alphabetical order by bank names. The records include annual reports, articles, correspondence, documents, and press releases."
Newark banks include: American National Bank; Broad National Bank; City National Bank of New Jersey; Dime Savings Institution; Dollar Savings Bank; Fidelity Union Bancorporation; First Fidelity Bank/First National State Bancorporation; Ironbound Bank; Ironbound (South) Bank, Newark; John J. Ryan & Co.; Lusitania Savings Bank, Newark; Manufacturers National Bank; Merchants & Newark Trust Company; Mutual Bank of Roseville, Newark; National Newark & Essex Banking Company; Newark City National Bank; Prudential Financial; Security National Bank of New Jersey; Security Savings Bank; Trident Federal Savings and Loan Association; Union National Bank; Van Dyk Research Corporation; West Side Trust Company.

Early History

"Newark Banks and Banking,"
W.M. Van Deusen. IN A History of the City of Newark, New Jersey: Embracing Practically Two and a Half Centuries, 1666-1913. Frank J. Urquhart et al., 1913. Vol. 2, pp.931-948c.
History of Newark banks up to the early part of the 20th century.
Includes: National Newark Banking Company (pp.931-941); Newark City National Bank (pp.941-943); West Side Trust Company (pp. 943-944); Federal Trust Company (p.944); Ironbound Trust Company (p.945); Clinton Trust Company (p.945); Broad and Market National Bank (p.946); Liberty Trust Company (p. 946); Springfield Avenue Trust Company (pp.946-947); City Trust Company (p.947); National State Bank (pp.947-948b); American National Bank (pp.948b-948c); Merchants National Bank (p.948c). Available?
Note: pp.931-943 missing in PDF version; use other formats or print for that section.
"Financial Interests,"
Newark, the City of Industry: Facts and Figures Concerning the Metropolis of New Jersey, 1912. Newark, Board of Trade, 1912. pp. 60-82.
Includes: National Newark Banking Company (pp.61-65); Union National Bank (pp.66-67); Essex County National Bank (pp.68-70); National State Bank (p.71); The North Ward National Bank (p.72); American National Bank (p.73); The Broad and Market National Bank (p.74); Fidelity Trust Company (p.75); Federal Trust Company (p.76); West Side Trust Company (p.77); Ironbound Trust Company (p.78); Newark Trust Company (p.79); City Trust Company (p.80); Roseville Trust Company (p.81); Security Savings Bank (p.82). Available?

Individual Newark Banks

American National Bank

American National Bank of Newark Records
Archival collection at the New Jersey Historical Society.
The American National Bank of Newark was acquired by the Fidelity Union Trust Company of Newark in 1927.

Bank of New Jersey

Charter of the Bank of New-Jersey, Passed in Council, February 24th, 1837.
Newark, N.J., Aaron Guest, Printer, 1837.
Broad and Market National Bank: Chartered in 1911; name changed to Broad and Market National Bank and Trust Company in 1927. Merged wtih the Guardian Trust Company of New Jersey in 1928 to form the New Jersey National Bank and Trust Company of Newark.

Broad National Bank Founded in 1925 as the Labor Cooperative National Bank, the Broad National Bank merged into the Independence Community Bank of Brooklyn in 1999.

Donald M. Karp's Broad National Bank Collection (1833-2004)
Archival collection at the Newark Public Library. Includes Federal Bank Examiner's reports, newsletters, scrapbooks, photographs and ephemera related to Broad National Bank.
History of the Broad National Bank
Donald M. Karp

Citizens National Bank: Merged into the Fidelity Union Trust Company of Newark in 1927.

City Trust Company of Newark: Merged into the Fidelity Union Trust Company of Newark in 1927.

Clinton Trust Company: Incorporated in 1909; acquired by the Fidelity Union Trust Company in 1947.

Federal Trust Company: Incorporated in 1901; merged into the National State Bank in 1958.

Fidelity Trust Company/Fidelity Union Bank Incorporated in 1887, in 1921 the Fidelity Trust Company merged with the Union National Bank and became the Fidelity Union Trust Companry; in 1981 the name was changed to Fidelity Union Bank. In 1984 Fidelity merged with the First National State Bank to become Fidelity Union Bank/First National State.

The Growth of the Trust Business: In New Jersey and Nationally
Edward A. Pruden, Newark, N.J., Fidelity Union Trust Company, 1931. Available?
Annual Report (Fidelity Union Trust Company)
Special Collections Has: 1965; 1968
The following are avalable at the New Jersey Historical Society: 1969; 1975.

Fourteenth Ward Building and Loan Association

A Story of American Independence and Thrift: 40th Anniversary: Fourteenth Ward Building & Loan Association, Newark, New Jersey.
Newark, 1926. Available?
Annual Report of the Fourteenth Ward Building and Loan Association of the City of Newark.
Newark, Fourteenth Ward Building and Loan Association. Available?

Guaranty Trust Company of New Jersey: Incorporated in 1925.

Guardian Trust Company of New Jersey Incorporated in 1926; merged with the Broad & Market National Bank of Newark in 1928 to form the New Jersey National Bank and Trust Company of Newark.

Hayes Circle National Bank and Trust Company: Incorporated in 1927, the Hayes Circle National Bank and Trust Company merged into the Federal Trust Company in 1930.

Howard Savings

Gateway of Progress, 1857-1957: The Story of New Jersey's Largest Savings Bank Through its First Century of Service.
Newark, N.J., Howard Savings Institution, 1957. Available?
The Story of John Howard: The Eighteenth Century Humanitarian in Whose Honor the Howard Savings Institution was Named.
Newark, N.J., Howard Savings Institution, 1957.
"Published on the occasion of the one hundredth anniversary of the Howard Savings Institution, Newark, New Jersey, 1857-1957." Available?
Seventy Five Years, 1857-1932.
Newark, N.J., Howard Savings Institution, 1932. Available?
Annual Report
New Jersey Historical Society has: 1932; 1937; and 1968-1971
In the Matter of the Howard Savings Bank, Newark, New Jersey, Docket No.FDIC-91-281B (9-27-01)
"Written agreement, pursuant to 12 C.F.R. Part 325, whereby Bank agrees to take corrective action and FDIC agrees not to issue a capital directive or to initiate cease and desist of termination of insurance proceedings. (This agreement was terminated by order of the FDIC dated 6-8-93.)"
Howard Powerless: The Rise & Fall of the Howard Savings Bank
Paul A. Luscombe. Chatham, N.J., PAL, 2003. Available?

Ironbound Trust Company: Merged into the Fidelity Union Trust Company of Newark in 1927.

Labor Cooperative National Bank: Chartered in 1925; name changed to Labor National Bank in 1927; eventually became the Broad National Bank.

Lincoln National Bank: Chartered in 1924.

Merchants National Bank: Chartered in 1871. Merged with Manufacturers National Bank in 1920 to form the Merchantes Trust Company.

Mutual Bank of Roseville: Incorporated in 1913. Acquired by Franklin Capital Corp in 1928.

National Newark & Essex Banking Company The city's first bank was chartered in 1804 as the Newark Banking and Insurance Company. Subsequently it became the Newark Banking Company (1855); the National Newark Banking Company (1865); the National Newark & Essex Banking Company (1918); and the National Newark and Essex Bank (1962). It became the Midlantic National Bank in 1974.

One Hundred Years, A Record of the Work of the Oldest Bank in the State of New Jersey
Charles G. Rockwood, comp. Newark, N.J., The National Newark Banking Co., 1904. Available?
National Newark & Essex Banking Company, 1804-1954
Newark, N.J., The Bank, 1954. Available?
The Apple Stand; or, How "The President" Might Have Done It. A Harmless Fiction Relative to Recent Facts. By a Stockholder Who Don't Mean To Be Done.
Henry William Herbert. Newark, N.J., 1848. Available?
The New Home of National Newark & Essex Banking Company: From Wilderness to Metropolis, the Hewlett Murals on the Walls of the Banking Rooms Tell the Continued Story of the Economic and Commercial History of Newark
Edward Wallace Scudder. Newark, N.J., National Newark & Essex Banking Co., 1931. Available?
National Newark and Essex Bank Company Collection 1929-1982 MG 1579
Collection at the New Jersey Historical Society. The collection consists primarily of printed materials relating to the history of the National Newark and Essex Bank Company, including commemorative anniversary pamphlets, an annual report, a directory, and brochures.

National State Bank of Newark Initially (1812) the State Bank of Newark and renamed the National State Bank of Newark in 1865, in 1962 it became the First National State Bank of New Jersey, and in 1985 First Fidelity.

The Story of a Bank and the Community it Serves
W.P. Stillman. Newark, the National State Bank of Newark, 1937. Available?
Forty-nine Feet on Broad: The Story of the First 150 Years of the National State Bank of Newark, New Jersey
John T. Cunningham. Newark, 1962. Available?
First National State Bank
1975 application to place the 1912 building, designed by Cass Gilbert, on the National Register of Historic Places.
First Fidelity Bank, N.A., New Jersey
History reproduced from the International Directory of Company Histories, St. James Press, 1994, vol. 9.

New Jersey National Bank and Trust Company: Formed by the merger of the Guardian Trust Company of New Jersey and the Broad and Market National Bank of Newark in 1928. Failed in 1932.

North End Bank: Merged into the Fidelity Union Trust Company of Newark in 1927.

United States Savings Bank of Newark Established in 1871, initially as the Germania Mutual Savings Institution and then the German Savings Bank (1872),the United States Savings Bank of Newark (1918) merged into the Hudson City Savings Bank in 1982.

History of the United States Savings Bank of Newark, N.J.
Newark, N.J., The Bank, 1976. Available?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.