Alumni Databases

Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers

Among others, includes South Jersey Republican 1863-1923; the Mays Landing Record 1877-1906; the Atlantic County Record 1908-1917; and the South Jersey Star 1917-1923

The Bayonne Herald.

1869-1915. [Hudson County].

[Bayshore] Independent

March 1954 to March 2000. [Monmouth County]

Camden Democrat

1859-1908. [Camden County]

Clark Public Library has digitized The Clark Patriot, 1966-1971, The Eagle, 2002-2005, and The Union County Local Source, 2008-2016 

Cranbury Press

1886-1926 [Middlesex County]

Daily True American 1880-1908. Trenton True American 1908-1912 Evening True American 1912-1913. [Mercer County].

Franklin Township Newspaper Archives

Includes The Record [1948-1958]; the Franklin News [1954-1958]; and the Franklin News-Record[1958-1978] [Somerset County]

Matawan Journal

1869-1973 [Monmouth County]

The Millburn Township Historical Archives include The Budget [1886]; The Short-Hills News Item [1889-1891]; and The Item of Millburn and Short Hills [1889-1891, 1935-1939, and 1941-1950]. [Essex County]

Newark Sunday Call.

June 1881 to July 1883. [Essex County]

Newspaper Archives of New Brunswick

New Brunswick Daily Times 1871-1916; and the Daily Home News 1887, 1889, 1903-1906 [scattered issues]. [Middlesex County]

On-Line Newspaper Archives of Ocean County. April 1893 to August 1993, includes issues from the: Cape May County Gazette, Daily Reporter, Ocean City Sentinel, The Daily Sentinel, News, et al, Ocean City Daily Reporter, Ocean City Ledger, Ocean City Sentinel Ledger. One issue a month digitized. The Sentinel Ledger is available September 1993-February 1998; Ocean City Sentinel March 1998-December 2011. Contact Ocean City Free Public Library for access information. 

The Paterson Weekly Press, The Paterson Press

1863-1902 [Passaic County]

Rahway Public Library provide digital access to Clark Patriot, 1978-1988, The Daily Record, 1911-1912, National Democrat, 1865-1891,1968, News Herald, 1910-1911, News Record, 1946-1992, Rahway Advocate,1882-1885, 1923, 1944, Rahway Progess, 1995-2000, The Rahway Record, 1913-1946, The Weekly Advocate and Times, 1878-1882

Red Bank Register Archive

The Red Bank Register, 1878-1964, and the Daily Register 1964-1991. [Monmouth County]

The Rockaway Township Library has digitized The Iron Era [Dover, Morris County] from 1872 to 1905, and The Rockaway Record [Rockaway, Morris County] from 1900 (scattered issues back to 1890) to 1936.

Scotch-Plains-Fanwood Times

(weekly) 1959-2008

South Amboy Citizen

July 2, 1910 through December 29, 2000. [Middlesex County]

Summit Free Public Library has digitized The Summit Herald, 1896-1986, 2004-2006, The Union County Local Source, 2008-2017, The Record, 1883-1923 (with gaps) 

Westfield Historical Newspapers Includes among others, Westfield Leader 1907-2011; Westfield Record Press 1990-2007; and the Union County Standard 1891-1915. Four or Five issues per month digitized. [Union County]

Woodbridge Township Historic Newspapers Among others, includes Carteret Press 1925-1965; Fords Beacon 1936-1961; Independent Leader 1940-1965; Woodbridge Independent 1919-1938; and the Woodbridge Leader 1926-1939. [Middlesex County]

Historical Newspapers by State Ethnic Newspapers Agricultural Press Military Newspapers International Newspapers

 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Currently includes over 960 U.S. newspapers published between 1836 and 1922.

Fulton Search: Historical newspapers 

A searchable archive of historical United States newspapers from 1795-2007. 

Google News Archive

Searches a collection of digitized newspapers, including many of the major U.S. newspapers. Access to both free and fee-based content. [No longer being updated].

NewsLibrary

NewsLibrary is a service used by newspapers to supply their archives on the internet. Allows you to simultaneously search all participating newspapers in a selected state; or search across a group of NewsBank newspapers that you have individually selected. There is a charge to view the full article.

RSAP: Resources for Research

Lists 18th, 19th, and early 20th century magazines and newspapers that are available full-text on the web. In addition to single titles, lists newspapers included as part of large digital collections (e.g., Cornell's and University of Michigan's Making of American Collections). From the Research Society for American Periodicals.

U.S. News Archives on the Web

Arranged by state. Most archives can be searched for free; there is usually a charge to retreive the full text of an article.

Historical Newspapers by State

 

This is a selective list of digitized newspaper collections by state. For a more extensive list see Historical Newspapers Online prepared by University of Memphis Libraries.

Alabama: Southern Courier

Based in Montgomery, Alabama, the Southern Courier provided objective coverage of the civil rights struggle in the South. 1965-1968.

Arizona: Chronicling America: Arizona

Search across about 70 Arizona newspapers from 1859 to 1922. An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers.

California: California Digital Newspaper Collection

Search or browse over 5 million pages (over 37,000,000 articles) of 26 significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, as well as issues of several current California newspapers.

Colorado: Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection

Searce or browse more than 600,000 digitized pages, representing 160+ individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.

Florida: Florida Digital Newspaper Library

Search over 1,376,000 pages of historic through current (2005- ) Florida newspapers. In addition, includes the Digital Military Newspaper Library and the Historic News Accounts of Florida, accounts from non-Florida newpapers that cover events in Florida from 1762-1885.

Georgia: Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive

Search across 14 Atlanta newspapers published between 1847 and 1922. Over 67,000 images.

Georgia: Digital Library of Georgia: Newspapers

Searchable collections of historic Georgia newspapers.

Illinois: Chicago Examiner

1908-1918. A Hearst newspaper.

Illinois: Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection

Browse or search a collection of five historic Illinois newspapers published between 1834 and 1975. From the University of Illinois.

Kentucky: Kentucky Digital Library: Newspapers

Search historic and current Kentucky newspapers.

Michigan: Detroit Gazette

1817-1830

Nevada: Las Vegas Age

Las Vegas, Nevada newspaper, April 7, 1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924.

New Jersey: The New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project (NJDNP)

The New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project (NJDNP) is a collaboration of the Rutgers University Libraries, the New Jersey State Archives and the New Jersey State Library. It's mission is to digitize, archive, and preserve the historic newspapers of New Jersey. As well as to provide public access to these newspapers.

New Jersey: New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers

The New Jersey State Library portal to the statewide collections of local historic newspapers. ,/dd>

New Jersey: New Jersey Online Historical Newspapers Summary

A list of free access sites to local, historic, New Jersey Newspapers

New York: Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online

Search or browse the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from 1841 to 1955. A project of Brooklyn Public Library.

New York: Hudson River Valley Heritage (HRVH) Historical Newspapers

Search or browse 14 nineteenth and twentieth century newspapers from the Hudson River Valley in New York State.

New York: NYS Historic Newspapers 

"The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history." 

New York: New York Times Article Archive

Search the complete archive of one of the premier newspapers in the world, 1851 to the present. Articles published before January 1, 1923 or after December 31, 1986 are free but count toward a monthly limit. Other articles available for a fee.

New York: Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Search 12 nineteenth and twentieth centurhy Suffolk County (New York) newspapers.

New York: Chronicling America: Search the Newspaper Pages

An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers. From New York currently includes the Evening World (8/1/1890-3/31/1909); the New York Tribune (1880-1922); and The Sun (7/1/1879-12/31/1910).

Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection

Search or browse selected Pennsylvania newspapers published before, during, and after the Civil War (February 23, 1831 to February 14, 1877).

Pennsylvania: Philadelphia Record

1881-1910. The leading Philadelphia newspaper of the period.

Pennsylvania: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

1927-2007.

Pennsylvania: The Pittsburgh Press

1888-1992

Virginia: Virginia Gazette

Important Colonial newspaper published weekly in Williamsburg, 1736-1780.

Wisconsin: Milwaukee Journal

1884-1990

Wisconsin: Milwaukee Sentinel

1910-1990

Wisconsin: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

1995-2007

Ethnic Newspapers

Afro-American

Baltimore, 1902-1992.

Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey

Search a collection of translations of nearly 50,000 newspaper articles originally published in Chicago's ethnic press between 1855 and 1938. 22 ethnic groups are represented.

Chung Sai Yat Po

Search five years (1900-1904) of a major Chinese-language newspapers published in San Francisco.

Dziennik Zwiazkowy

"Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908-1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time."

Elevator

San Francisco African-American newspaper. 1865-1898 [only scattered issues after 1874].

Evansville Argus

Evansville, Indiana African-American newspaper. 1938-1943.

Freedom's Journal

Browse the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829.

The Friend of Man

Search one of the most significant newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements in New York state, 1836-1842.

The Indianapolis Recorder

"One of the top African-American publications in the nation." 1899-2005 [lacking 1917-1925].

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press

Search or browse Mexican and Mexican American publications, primarily daily and weekly newspapers, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. A project of the University of Arizona.

The Miami Times

African-American newspaper. 1958-1969; 2005-present.

New York Age

The New York Age, 1887-1953, was one of the best known and most influential African American newspapers of its time. August 1890-February 1892 is available from the Google News Archive; 1906-1953 is available from the Fulton History site.

The Occident and American Jewish Advocate

Published in Philadelphia from 1843 to 1869, the Advocate was the first successful Jewish serial in the United States.

Ohio Jewish Chronicle

Search the Columbus, Ohio newspaper, 1922 through 1994.

The Pittsburgh Catholic

Currently March 16, 1844 through March 7, 1957 available for searching or browsing.

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project

Search or browse more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-present), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).

St. Louis Argus

African American newspaper published in St. Louis 1915-1945. In progress; 1915-1921 scanned.

Southern Israelite

1929-1986. The Southern Israelite, which began in Augusta and then moved to Atlanta, not only covered the news of the southern Jewry, but also the issues that involved Jewish populations throughout the nation and world, including the Holocaust and later the creation of the Jewish state of Israel.

Agricultural Press

Farm, Field and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection

Browse or search a collection of historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. From the University of Illinois.

Indiana Farmer

1851-1917.

Lancaster Farming

Published in Ephrata, Pennsylvania, Lancaster Farming is the leading Northeast and Mid-Atlantic farm newspaper. This digital collection contains all issues from November 4, 1955 to December 27, 2003.

Military Newspapers

Digital Military Newspaper Library

Search contemporary and historic military newspapers and periodicals from Naval and Air Force bases in Florida, the Kennedy Space Center, a submarine base at King’s Bay Georgia, the Panama Canal Zone, and two newspapers in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

Stars and Stripes

Search or browse the United States Army newspaper for its forces in France during World War I (February 8, 1918 to June 13, 1919).

International Newspapers

International News Archives on the Web

Arranged by region and country.

Australian Newspapers: 1803-1954

More than forty titles hosted by the Australian National Library. Articles are searchable by keyword, date, and selected categories.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection, a subset of the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), is a collection of digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

European Newspaper Archives

Links to (mostly) free European newspaper archives. Includes British, Irish, Welsh, German, French, Dutch, and other collections. From Xooxle Answers.

Historical Jewish Press

Search 35 Jewish newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries in various countries. Most newspapers in Hebrew, although other languages are included. Includes the Palestine Post, 1932 to 1950.

International News: Historical Archives

Newspaper collections from Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the rest of the world, excluding Europe and the U.S.