Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Alumni Databases: Military Science

Useful bibliographic databases that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation.

Index to Military Periodicals

Index to Military Periodicals
Index to some 100 English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. From the Air University Library. 1988- .

Other Military Science Databases

Air Force Historical Research Agency 
As a repository of Air Force Historical Documents, the AFHRA provides an online searchable access to many of these documents and materials. 
Air Force History Index 
An online index to over 550,000 Air Force Historical Documents.
Air University Research Information Center
AURIC is a one-stop solution for the discovery of local and remote FRIC resources. Resources that include books, journal articles, AU Student Papers, as well as the AU's digital collections. 
Defence Research and Development Canada: Defense Research Reports
A database of scientific and technical research produced by and for Defence Research & Development Canada (DRDC) over the past 60 years.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The non-subscription version contains over 52000 U.S. Federal Government documents as well as academic theses from federal government institutions having to do with homeland security and its related fields.
PILOTS Database
Index to almost 50,000 citations, most with abstracts, to worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for PTSD, and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)
Current (1985 to the present) index to over 166,000 articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare and related research. Also includes miscellaneous reports from RAND and the U.S. General Accounting Office. From the Joint Forces Staff College Library.
The Virtual Vietnam Archive 
The Vietnam War from a personal perspective, this digital archive consists mostly of photos, letters, and other materials donated by veterans and researchers. There are some copies of official documents within the collection. Currently the collection has over 7 million scanned pages of materials.  
Trenches on the Web Library 
A reference and archival database providing access to materials relating to WWI. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.