Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Alumni Databases: Film & Television

Useful bibliographic databases that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation.

Film Literature Index

Film Literature Index
Index to scholarly and popular film and television periodicals worldwide from 1976 to 2001. Search or browse approximately 700,000 citations.

Other Film and Television Databases

CineFiles
Scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the UC-Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present. Citations are available for all documents, and page images are available for documents with copyright clearance. Search or browse by title, director, subject, or genre.
Index to Periodical Articles
In-house indexing to the extensive collection of journals in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Margaret Herrick Library’s collection.
MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Links to over 920,000 film reviews in newspapers, journals, and other online sources. Some sources require a subscription. Approximately 105,000 films indexed.
Museum of Broadcast Communications: Online Collections
A searchable online database to the archival collection of the MBC. The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) collects, preserves, and presents historic and contemporary radio and television content.
University of California at Berkeley Bibliographies on Films and TV
Extensive bibliographies, many with annotations, on a variety of topics including censorship, the 1950s, movies and the technological world, reality TV, sex in the movies, and situation comedies; film and TV genres; film and race, ethnicity, and gender; national cinemas; individual film makers and actors; and individual films and TV shows.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.