Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Basics (Crime & Justice)
Uniform Crime Reporting Program
"Consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program. The UCR Program publishes annual reports for each of these data collections and a preliminary semiannual report of summary data each winter, as well as special compilations such as Cargo Theft Report, Human Trafficking, and NIBRS topical studies. In addition to the four major data collections, the UCR Program will manage the new National Use-of-Force Data Collection. And the FBI's interactive Crime Data Explorer tool serves as the digital front door for UCR data" including Crime in the United States. Data from city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies is collected.
NCJRS Virtual Library
Contains summaries of publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research from the early 1970s to the present. Links to full-text online resources are provided when and where available. From the U.S. National Criminal Justice Reference Service.
Justice Statistics Bureau
Home page of the BJS, with links to statistical resources on crimes and victims; criminal offenders; the justice system; and related special topics.
Archives Unbound: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s [Rutgers Restricted]
A full-text, full image database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1959 to 1971.
Archives Unbound: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 [Rutgers Restricted]
A full-text, full image database of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's previously classified files on prominent African Americans and African-American organizations.
Criminal Justice (Research Guide)
Information on electronic and print resources available to users of the Rutgers University Libraries
The Internet Archives collection of "FBI files collected from every accessible public source."
FBI Records — The Vault
A searchable reading room of FBI documents made public through the Freedom of Information Act. Categories covered include Administrative Policy Procedures, Anti-War, Bureau Personnel, Civil Rights, Counterterrorism, Foreign Counterintelligence, Fugitives, Gangs Extremist Groups, Gangster Era, Organizations, Organized Crime, Political Figures Events, Popular Culture, Public Corruption, Supreme Court, Unexplained Phenomenon, World War II, Violent Crime, and more.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a Federal Register Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and U.S. Statutes at Large.
Homeland Security Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]
A compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security. “Specific types of documents available include Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports; Inspector General reports; Presidential directives, executive orders and reports; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports; and more.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online [Rutgers Restricted]
A full text database of previously classified documents declassified by the federal government. It includes material on both domestic and international affairs from such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Agency.