Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Basics (Agriculture)
Electronic versions of the annual publication (1936+) from the National Agricultural Statistics Service covering agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. 1936-1993 are downloadable as a single file.
Agricultural Statistics [Print edition]
Available in print since 1936, and also online from the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service. This title covers agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs and returns. Some foreign country information is included. Many tables include data for 10 or 15 years.
Census of Agriculture
Includes data from the earliest agricultural census (1840) to the most recent.
Economic Research Service (USDA)
Provides agricultural data with an economic focus (e.g., prices, commodity markets, agricultural income, etc.).
FoodData Central (USDA)
"An integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
The scope of the NALDC includes Items published by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and clearly intended for public consumption; scholarly and peer-reviewed research outcomes authored by USDA employees while working for USDA; and other items selected in accordance with the subjects identified in the NAL Collection Development Policy.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Includes "reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples."
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research including citations and some full-text.
Official USDA soil information with viewable maps and tables.
Full text research and development publications from the U.S. Forest Service.