Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Aids and Research Guides (Copyright, Patents, & Trademarks)
Patents and Trademarks
A collection of links to patent search databases for the U.S. and other countries, collections of technical reports, and general information about invention and intellectual property.
Some Basics (Copyright, Patents, & Trademarks)
Catalog of Copyright Entries (Online Books Page)
Includes links to full-text versions of many volumes included in the Google Books collection.
Search for Patents
Search and view the full-text of U.S. patents from 1976 on, and patent applications beginning with March 2001. Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classification. From the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
Copyright - Public Catalog
Search records of registrations and ownership documents since 1978. From the U.S. Library of Congress.
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides online searching of existing trademark application and registration information. TESS provides public access to the same text and image database of trademarks as is currently provided to examining attorneys at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
U.S. Copyright Office Fair Use Index
A searchable database of court opinions, including by category and type of use (e.g., music, internet/digitization, parody).