Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives: Business, Industries, and Trade: Getting Started

This guide focuses on collections and resources that document the history of industry, manufacturing, and trades in New Jersey.

Overview

Welcome to the Special Collections and University Archives (SC/UA) research guide for the history of industry, manufacturing, and trades in New Jersey. The guide focuses on collections and resources available in SC/UA, made available by online finding aids and the Rutgers Libraries catalog. 

Thank you to Kate McCarthy, graduate student in the MLIS program at Rutgers' School of Communication and Information, for her work on this guide.

Featured Image

New Jersey Business College, Newark, 1884 (bookplate)

New Jersey Business College, Newark, 1884 (bookplate)

Getting Started

QuickSearch

The Rutgers Libraries catalog, known as QuickSearch, is often the best place to begin your research for printed material (books, pamphlets, magazines & journals, newsletters, reports, surveys, newspapers, etc.) The QuickSearch search box can be found on the Special Collections & University Archives homepage and many other Rutgers Libraries pages. There are also detailed instructions for how to conduct a basic search on the SC/UA website under “How to search the library catalog." Once you conduct a broad keyword or subject search, you can limit your search to SC/UA or any other specific libraries by clicking on “Library” on the left side of the page, and selecting a specific library from the drop-down list. 

Special Collections & University Archives website

Under Research Tools and Resources, select Search Our Collections for information on the most comprehensive ways to search our holdings, including maps and printed New Jersey items, that are not necessarily findable through QuickSearch. You can also browse finding aids for the Sinclair New Jersey Collection (as well as manuscripts and other archival collections) at http://www2.scc.rutgers.edu/ead/  Finding aids are simply detailed guides that allow researchers to get a sense of and locate materials in a collection of documents. They are used by special collections and archives globally as a standard way to create access to collections.

New Jersey Regional Studies Librarian and Head of Public Services

Christine Lutz's picture
Christine Lutz
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
169 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Subjects:New Jerseyana

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.