Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives: Business, Industries, and Trade: Trade and Manufacturers Catalogs

This guide focuses on collections and resources that document the history of industry, manufacturing, and trades in New Jersey.

Overview

The Rutgers University Libraries collection of New Jersey trade and manufacturers catalogs reflects an effort "to collect, preserve and make available for research, primary and secondary materials in various formats, documenting all aspects of New Jersey's history, from its founding to the present."

Collections

New Jersey Trade and Manufacturers' Catalog Collection 

This collection consists of trade and manufacturers catalogs belonging to New Jersey companies. The finding aid is organized alphabetical by county and majority of the materials are dated between 1848 and 2010. 

Noah Morrison's Catalogs of Books for Sale, 1894-1932.

Noah Farnham Morrison was a bookseller of "rare, old and curious books" as well as an author. The company was based out of Elizabeth, NJ. 

Peter Henderson's Garden Catalogs, 1865-1952.

Peter Henderson was a market gardener and author based in Bergen County, NJ. He established his seed company around 1870, which developed vegetables and flowers suited to the conditions in America and aimed to spread the teachings good horticultural practices. The Peter Henderson & Co. catalogs are most notable for their extensive number of pages and vivid colors. 

Additional Information

To find individual trade and manufacturers catalogs that are not part of the New Jersey Trade and Manufacturers' Catalog collection and additional materials concerning related subjects, please do a targeted advanced search in the Libraries catalog and limit the library to Special Collections and University Archives (view instructions).

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.