Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives: Business, Industries, and Trade: Account Books

This guide focuses on collections and resources that document the history of industry, manufacturing, and trades in New Jersey.

Overview

Our manuscript collection contains a great number of account books, many of which are part of the Account Book Collection (Ac. 6000). Some account books can be found through the Rutgers Libraries catalog. Account books demonstrate the record-keeping process belonging to an individual or a particular business/company. The information recorded typically consists of a variety of financial transactions, such as records of sales or purchases, receipts, payments, and financial reports. 

Collections

A. Hann & Son Records, 1852-1918.

Business records including account books, correspondence, bills and receipts kept store owner Alfred Hann, from Bridgeton, New Jersey. 

Eerie Railroad Company Account Books, 1899-1904.

Account books (1899-1902) kept by the Collector for Orvill Township and an account book (1902-1904) recording monies collected aboard various trains in northern New Jersey.

John I. Beatty Account Books, 1826-1886.

John Beatty was the successor of business partners David McKean and Samuel Newell who ran a general store in Allentown, Monmouth County, New Jersey. The collection is comprised of daybooks, account books and ledgers. 

Ludlum Steel Company Records, 1851-1917. 

Records include various account books, invoices, ledgers, payroll books, sale and production records. 

Account Books

Library Catalog

A catalog search for the term "account" and specific industries and trades yields the following results: 

At SC/UA

Account Book Collection (Ac. 6000) 

Access to this collection is available through the card catalog in the SC/UA reading room. Please contact our reference services for assistance.

Due to the size of this collection materials are stored off-site and must be requested at least three business days in advance. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.