Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives: Business, Industries, and Trade: Businesses and Industries

This guide focuses on collections and resources that document the history of industry, manufacturing, and trades in New Jersey.

Overview

The resources listed below are collections of prominent New Jersey businesses, documenting their structure and growth over time. Due to the size and amount of materials some of these collections are housed off-site and must be requested three business days in advance. Please contact our reference services for assistance.

Collections

Bildner Family Kings Super Markets records, 1917-2010

The archives of the Bildner family and Kings Super Markets contains a record of the evolution of a small, family-owned and operated grocery store on Long Island to a well-respected chain of stores in northern New Jersey, and finally, to a line of specialty foods and grocery stores owned and run by one of the largest retailers in England. Collection materials include reports, newspaper clippings, photographs, letters, and other items that document the Bildner family and their business over time.

Charles R. Hoffman Funeral Parlor records, 1894-1961. (Stored off-site)

Based in Hoboken, NJ, The Charles R. Hoffman Funeral Parlor records are organized chronologically by date and consist of funeral and burial documents. 

Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) Industrial Union Councils records, 1950-1957. (Stored off-site

The Congress of Industrial Organizations was a federation of unions that specifically organized workers in industrial unions in the United States and Canada from 1935 to 1955.

Daniel B. Frazier Company records, 1836-1958. (Stored off-site)

The Daniel B. Frazier Company was a real estate company established in Hammonton, NJ. The collection consists of correspondence, land conveyances, title papers, bank statements, account books and other legal or business related documents. Maps of New Jersey and eastern Pennsylvania, majority being maps of Frazier holdings, and photographs are also included. 

Elmer T. Hutchinson of New Jersey printers and publishers papers, ca 1920-1954. 

This collection contains documents pertaining to various aspects of New Jersey history. Materials primarily include correspondence, biographical and bibliographical notes on New Jersey printers and publishers active before 1851. 

International Latex Corporation and Spanel International, Ltd records, 1946-1985. Abram N. Spanel papers. (Stored off-site

Currently known as Playtex, the International Latex Corporation was founded in 1932 by Abram Spanel and is most known for manufacturing women's undergarments. The company supported American efforts during World War II by providing latex products such as attack boats, life rafts and canteens. 

John Waldron Machine Company records. (Stored off-site

The John Waldron Company manufactured reeling machines for papers and fabrics as well as other textile machinery. The company was active during the 19th century and located in New Brunswick, NJ. 

Lenox, Inc. records, 1889-2005. (Stored off-site

Lenox, Incorporated, which was known until 1906 as the Ceramic Art Company, is a manufacturer of china, tableware and decorative pieces founded in Trenton, NJ. The records within this collection document the manufacturing operations, product design and creation, advertising, sales practices, financial history as well as changes in the corporate structure and ownership. 

National Musical String Company records, 1891-1978. (Stored off-site

The National Musical String Company was a music string factory located in New Brunswick, NJ. The company was the first to manufacture harmonicas in America and became one of the world's largest producers of steel strings. The collection includes correspondence, accounts, printed matter, scrapbooks and other records. 

New Jersey Coalition for Fair Broadcasting records, 1973-1983. (Stored off-site

This collection contains correspondence, legal briefs, papers, petitions, clippings and monitoring studies relating to New Jersey, New York City and Philadelphia television stations. Additional records document the process of transferring the WOR-TV station from New York to New Jersey as well as video tapes and audio recordings of Federal Communications Commission meetings, 1978-1982. 

New Jersey Zinc Company records, 1880-1986. (Stored off-site

Currently known as Horsehead Holding Corporation, the New Jersey Zinc Company was founded in 1848 and was the largest producer of zinc and zinc products in the United States for many years. 

North River Steamboat Company records, 1800-1858.

The records of the North River Steamboat Company primarily consist of correspondence between Charles Rhind, an agent of the company and one of the proprietors, John Townsend. The documents pertain to the building and operation of ships, finances, and legal proceedings. 

Rumford Chemical Works records, 1848--1958. (Stored off-site

This collection contains general documents, including production, sales and shipping records, as well as purchase and receiving records pertaining to Rumford Chemical Works. Materials consist of account books, ledgers and cashbooks. 

Trenton Trust Company records, 1887-1972.

The Trenton Trust Company was founded in 1888 by the Roebling family. The collection includes minute books related to the board of directors, the executive committee, and other board committees as well as federal documents, conferences, directors' examinations, merger documents and miscellaneous records related to the bank. 

Yznaga del Valle & Co. records, 1850-1881.

The Yznaga del Valle and Company was a firm of sugar merchants, originating in Cuba and eventually the company expanded to New York City. The documents include personal and business correspondence, as well as the company's business records. Additionally, Rutgers librarian Jane Orttung completed a significant amount of research on the Yznaga family business and translated more than 2,700 handwritten letters from Spanish to English. The finding aid to the Jane Orttung Files on Yznaga del Valle is available here

Additional Information

Please contact Special Collections and University Archives reference services with any questions or for additional finding aids and resources not available online. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.