Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Air Force Historical Research Agency
The repository for Air Force historical documents. The site includes full-text USAF Historical Studies, Short Studies on Recent Operations, and other materials.
Air Force History Index
An unofficial site for searching hundreds of thousands of U.S. Air Force documents including unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more.
Army Heritage and Education Center Collections
Search interface for the collections of the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center.
Central Intelligence Agency Library
Links to full-text books, monographs, and other materials. Includes full-text access to the serial publication Studies in Intelligence.
Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital Library
Largely composed of digital versions of paper documents from the Combined Arms Research Library collections and student papers produced at the US Army Command and General Staff College.
Congressional Research Service: Search CRS Reports
Research reports produced by the public policy research arm of the United States Congress.
DTIC Online (Defense Technical Information Center)
A central resource for Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
FBI Records — The Vault
A searchable reading room of FBI documents made public through the Freedom of Information Act. Categories covered include Administrative Policy Procedures, Anti-War, Bureau Personnel, Civil Rights, Counterterrorism, Foreign Counterintelligence, Fugitives, Gangs Extremist Groups, Gangster Era, Organizations, Organized Crime, Political Figures Events, Popular Culture, Public Corruption, Supreme Court, Unexplained Phenomenon, World War II, Violent Crime, and more.
Search or browse official publications from all branches of the U.S. government. Includes presidential documents, congressional committee prints, hearing transcripts, congressional reports, GAO reports, and many other publications.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a Federal Register Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and U.S. Statutes at Large.
Homeland Security Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]
A compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security. “Specific types of documents available include Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports; Inspector General reports; Presidential directives, executive orders and reports; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports; and more.
Joint Electronic Library
Includes joint publications, doctrine, and the DOD Dictionary, as well as materials related to education, training, and more.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports [Rutgers Restricted]
Features English-language translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world with an emphasis on communist and developing countries. Coverage includes socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and military issues and events. Reports were produced from 1957 to 1995.
CIA Library: JPRS
Freely accessible full text versions of reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) made available by the Central Intelligence Agency under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Naval History & Heritage Command
Links to ship histories, archival materials, photographs, videos, and more.
ProQuest Congressional Publications [Rutgers Restricted]
Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
U.S. Army Center of Military History - General Resources and Research
Includes books, research materials, Army regulations, and other collections.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online [Rutgers Restricted]
A full text database of previously classified documents declassified by the federal government. It includes material on both domestic and international affairs from such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Agency.
United States MIlitary Academy Library Digital Collections
Includes documentation on the history of West Point, the U.S. Military Academy, and Academy alumni.
War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Civil War
A searchable version of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies.
Catalogs | Indexes
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
This official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Covers electronic and print publications from all branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976. Includes links to full-text electronic publications, and will eventually include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
Cross-searches multiple U.S. government databases. Advanced and expert searches include the option to limit to "Defense + Military' resources.
PAIS Index [Rutgers Restricted]
A bibliographic database covering political, social, and public policy issues in journals, conference proceedings, government publications, and other sources from 1972 forward.
WorldCat [Rutgers Restricted]
Catalog of bibliographic records representing holdings information from libraries worldwide. Government publications from all jurisdictions are included.
Government Resources &
Information Services Librarian