Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Aids and Research Guides (Economics)
A collection of guides for a variety of economic topics. Links to indexes, data and text resources, and organizations in the field of economics are included.
Indexes, Catalogs, and Databases (Economics)
Fed in Print
Provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks. Coverage includes the core economic reviews, as well as specialized regional and international publications, working papers, and annual report essays. Also included are selected speeches, community development publications, and conference papers.
Green Book: Background Material and Data on the Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means
Full-text searchable version compiled by the staff of the Committee. It provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. Includes a selection of CRS Reports and is prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS).
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Includes concordances showing the direct relationships between classification systems (e.g., NAICS for various years, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), etc.).
Cheetah [Rutgers Restricted]
A comprehensive database of documents related to taxation in the United States. The full text of federal tax law, Internal Revenue Service publications, and numerous interpretive tax guides are available online. Tax reporters for all fifty states are included, as well as current state and federal tax news. The database is fully searchable for free text or individual citations.
Bank Data and Statistics
Searchable databases for information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry. From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
Beige Book Archive
A searchable version of the report, published eight times per year, summarizing current economic information gathered from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. Cover 1970 to the present. From the U.S. Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.
Economic Analysis Bureau
Links to a variety of national, international, and regional economic data; including full-text versions of the Survey of Current Business and other BEA Publications.
Provides timely access to the daily releases of a variety of economic indicators .
Economic Indicators (Monthly Publication)
Full text of the monthly publication from 1995 to the present.
Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)
The primary site for accessing Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the 2020 Census, and more. All new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new platform.
Federal Reserve Board: Data
Statistical releases and historical data from the U.S. Federal Reserve Board. Includes selected interest rates; foreign exchange rates; U.S. reserve assets; assets and liabilities of commercial banks in the U.S.; money stock measures; consumer credit; and more.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Provides access to historical economic statistics and data in PDF format from a variety of publications including All Bank Statistics, Business Conditions Digest, Economic Indicators, Survey of Current Business, Business Statistics, and more. From the U.S. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
FRED Economic Data
Links to economic data and data tools from the Federal Reserve System, government agencies, and international economic data sources. From the U.S. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
A free, searchable database of Federal government spending, with annual data beginning with FY 2000.
Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data from 1989 to the present. From the U.S. International Trade Commission. Registration is required.
What is a Dollar Worth?
Featured on the home page of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis. The calculator allows users to compare the value of goods or services in the current year to their value in an earlier year back to 1913. Also provides a link to estimated CPI and inflation rates beginning with 1800 from the Handbook of Labor Statistics.