Federal Government

This official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Covers electronic and print publications from all branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976. Includes links to full-text electronic publications, and will eventually include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.

Digitized versions of the principle indexes published by the U.S. Government Printing Office and Congress identifying documents published from 1789 to 2004. Includes the complete run of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. Some titles identified in the indexes are available online; additional titles are available in Rutgers University Libraries.

Search or browse official publications from all branches of the U.S. government. Includes presidential documents, congressional committee prints, hearing transcripts, congressional reports, GAO reports, and many other publications.

A PDF version of the standard work providing a catalog of departmental and Congressional publications. Access is alphabetical and by Superintendent of Documents classification number. Also lists Congressional Serial Set materials arranged by Congress and session.

Freely accessible full text versions of reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) made available by the Central Intelligence Agency under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

A joint venture between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors.

Search GAO reports and legal products from 1970 to the present. All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included, as are some products issued as far back as 1890, although that part of the collection is not comprehensive. Reports and testimony can also be browsed.

Search by keyword, funding opportunity, date, CFDA number, category, funding instrument type, eligibility, or agency to find federal funding opportunities.

A subset of the HathiTrust repository limited to titles identified as U.S. federal documents. Links to full-text are included for many titles.

A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.

A compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security. “Specific types of documents available include Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports; Inspector General reports; Presidential directives, executive orders and reports; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports; and more.

Features English-language translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world with an emphasis on communist and developing countries. Coverage includes socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and military issues and events. Reports were produced from 1957 to 1995.

Includes a wide range of full-text archival material broken down into U.S. Federal (executive, legislative, and judicial branches), U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added each month.

Includes news and scholarship related to all branches of the U.S. military and government. It includes academic journals, popular magazines, trade publications, and military publications.

"Commonly referred to as the Monthly Catalog or MoCat, this publication lists all of the publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1895 to 2004. Initially intended to supplement the Documents Catalog, the Monthly Catalog served as the “comprehensive index” provided for in the Printing Act of 1895 after the Documents Catalog was discontinued in 1947. The Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition, after which point the continuously updated Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) served that purpose."

Digitized versions of the catalog listing publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Additional volumes may be available on records for "Similar Items." For 1976 to the present, use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

"The role of federal IGs is to prevent and detect waste, fraud, and abuse relating to their agency’s programs and operations, and to promote economy, efficiency, and effectiveness in the agency’s operations and programs." "The site includes a publicly accessible, text searchable repository of reports published by IGs." Use the clickable map to find reports relating to individual states.

A bibliographic database covering political, social, and public policy issues in journals, conference proceedings, government publications, and other sources from 1972 forward.

A full text database of previously classified documents declassified by the federal government. It includes material on both domestic and international affairs from such agencies as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Central Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Agency.

Searchable version of the essential resource formerly produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others.

Full-text PDF versions of the publication from the U.S. Bureau of the Census from 1878 to 2012. Includes statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected international data. Also includes a full-text PDF version of Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.

Print edition begins in 1973. This index covers federal government agencies, including depository, non-depository, and non-Government Printing/Government Publishing Office publications. Titles include annual reports, periodicals, and monographs. Gives the government documents call number for depository items. Indexed by subjects, names, categories, title, agency report number, and SIC codes (to 4 numbers). Alexander Library has the ASI non-depository collection on microfiche from 1980 to 2015. Print titles may be housed in either Alexander Library or the Library of Science and Medicine, depending on the subject and issuing agency.

Offers access to Federal Executive Branch datasets as "raw" data and through various tools and apps. Includes data on population, education, business, health, science and technology, geography and environment, and many other areas. Additional material and material on additional subjects is being added on a continuing basis.

Easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources with over 4.9 billion datasets. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.

"An initiative committed to identifying, assessing, prioritizing, securing, and distributing reliable copies of federal climate and environmental data so that it remains available to researchers."

" An ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources."

Covering Colonial times to the year 2000, the database is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. Sections include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations with over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.

An online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.

A good place to start to find statistics by topic. Topics include general government; business and economics; defense and international relations; environment, energy, and agriculture; family, home, and community; geospatial data; health and nutrition; jobs and education; public safety and law; science and technology; and travel, transportation, and recreation.

A free, searchable database of Federal government spending, with annual data beginning with FY 2000.

Compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, the documents chronicle United States history from 1776 (Richard Henry Lee's resolution proposing independence for the American colonies) to 1965 (Voting Rights Act). Includes images of the original documents plus printer-friendly versions.

A full-text searchable version of "the codification of general and permanent rules, drawn up by federal departments and agencies, which are first published in the Federal Register. From the Legal Information Institute.

Includes the Articles of Confederation, Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution, and many more.

Correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 135,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.

Digitized versions of the principle indexes published by the U.S. Government Printing Office and Congress identifying documents published from 1789 to 2004. Includes the complete run of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. Some titles identified in the indexes are available online; additional titles are available in Rutgers University Libraries.

Covering Colonial times to the year 2000, the database is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. Sections include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations with over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.

Digitized versions of the catalog listing publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Additional volumes may be available on records for "Similar Items." For 1976 to the present, use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

Full-text PDF versions of the publication from the U.S. Bureau of the Census from 1878 to 2012. Includes statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected international data. Also includes a full-text PDF version of Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.

A searchable version of the United States Code, "a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States."

A web version of the current edition. "As the official handbook of the Federal Government,The United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."

"As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."

Choose from a comprehensive and well organized list or do a keyword search to find websites for Federal agencies.

Organizes data from archived sources such as congressional hearings, statutes, Congressional Quarterly stories, New York Times stories, and Presidential Executive Orders to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.

Harvested and archived Federal web sites.

Provides permanent public access to the electronic web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions. From the University of North Texas Libraries.

A directory of federal, state, & local government sites from all branches of government.

Provides provides citizens and businesses with a common access point to U.S. federal agency forms.

Thematic collections of primary source materials from the Web. Available Web archives include: 108th Congress, Election 2004, September 11, 2001, Papal Transition 2005, and more, with additional collections being added on a continuing basis.

A web portal for citizens, businesses, governments, and visitors to the United States providing access to web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories.

A collection of research guides for data resources and services.

Topic specific guides put together by the Federal Depository Library Program.

Provides links to Freedom of Information Act sections of federal agency websites along with additional links.

Basic information about Alexander Library's collection of federal, state, foreign, and international government publications.

An annotated guide to online sources of information on government and law. Includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information. From the U.S. Library of Congress.

Extensive links to information on New Jersey Law; United States Federal Law; Law of Other States; Foreign Law; International Law and Human Rights; Law-Related Organizations; General Legal Sites; Law Schools, Lawyers, Legal Journals, Lists, Newsgroups, and Publishers; and Topical Legal sites. An RU Libraries Subject Research Guide.

A searchable database listing many of the microform collections held by the Alexander Library, plus selected collections from other Rutgers libraries. The database includes location information as well as information on guides and indexes to the collections.

A simplified explanation of the SuDocs numbering system with an interactive quiz. From The Michigan State University Libraries.