Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Aids and Research Guides (Science and Technology)
Includes information on a variety of maps including both topographic and thematic maps of NJ, maps from the US Geological Survey, and others.
Sources of information for reports generated by scientific research projects.
A searchable database listing the topographic maps issued by the US Geological Survey (USGS) and collected by the Library of Science and Medicine (LSM) at Rutgers University.
Data (Science and Technology)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
"NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following: research and development; the science and engineering workforce; U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D; and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States.
Science and Engineering Indicators
Electronic versions beginning with 1993.
Science and Engineering Indicators [Print edition]
Available in print since since 1985. Published biennially by the National Science Board, this series "presents information on science, mathematics, and engineering education at all levels; the scientific and engineering workforce; U.S. and international research and development performance; U.S. competitiveness in high technology; and public attitudes and understanding of science and engineering. A chapter on state-level science and engineering presents state comparisons on selected indicators. An Overview chapter distills selected key themes emerging from the report." (NSF web page)
USGS Water Data for the Nation
Provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. From the U.S. Geological Survey.
Indexes, Catalogs, and Databases (Science and Technology)
Provides access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository.
Bureau of Land Management Library
"Includes a full range of land and natural resource management publications including wildlife, vegetation, soil, air, water, geology, minerals, archaeology, energy, landscape ecology, rangeland, and others."
CIA Library: JPRS
Freely accessible full text versions of reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) made available by the Central Intelligence Agency under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
DOE Search Tools
Covers research results and science information from the Manhattan Project to the present, including peer-reviewed journal articles and accepted manuscripts, full text documents, conference proceedings, patents, and more. From the Office of Scientific and Technical Information of the Department of Energy.
DTIC Technical Reports
A searchable database of unclassified documents in the Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Reports Collection, including the full-text of many documents.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO)
A continuously updated database of sources considered for and/or used in human and ecosystem risk assessments. From the U.S. Enviromental Protection Agency.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports [Rutgers Restricted]
Features English-language translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world with an emphasis on communist and developing countries. Coverage includes socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and military issues and events. Reports were produced from 1957 to 1995.
Provides "easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research."
A gateway to selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. The web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page. The site also includes an Image Search feature as one of its Special Collections.
From the Environmental Protection Agency, the site provides a searchable, Agency-wide catalog of science activities such as research, technical assistance and assessments, along with peer-reviewed products.
TRAIL Search (Technical Report Archive & Image Library)
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
USACE Digital Library (US Army Corps of Engineers)
The materials in this repository include information by and about the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Most materials were published by USACE, but some collections contain materials by other government agencies written about USACE.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
"A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals." From the U.S. Department of Energy and the WorldWide Science Alliance.