Skip to main content
Find an Agency
United States Government Manual [Current edition]
A web version of the current edition. "As the official handbook of the Federal Government,The United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."
United States Government Manual
"As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees." PDF and text versions for 1995-96 forward.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
This official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Covers electronic and print publications from all branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976. Includes links to full-text electronic publications, and will eventually include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
Search or browse official publications from all branches of the U.S. government. Includes presidential documents, congressional committee prints, hearing transcripts, congressional reports, GAO reports, and many other publications.
HathiTrust - U.S. Federal Documents
A subset of the HathiTrust repository limited to titles identified as U.S. federal documents. Links to full-text are included for many titles.
Find Info on Government Websites
Intended as a tool to facilitate the Freedom of Information Act, the site "allows you to search across all government websites at once."
"Searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public. Its search box works like other search engines you're used to, but USA.gov only returns results from government web pages, most ending in .gov or .mil."
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [Rutgers Restricted]
Searchable version of the essential resource formerly produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition [Rutgers Restricted]
Covering Colonial times to the year 2000, the database is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. Sections include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations with over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Offers access to Federal Executive Branch datasets as "raw" data and through various tools and apps. Includes data on population, education, business, health, science and technology, geography and environment, and many other areas. Additional material and material on additional subjects is being added on a continuing basis.
Find Laws and Regulations
United States Code
A searchable version of the United States Code, "a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States."
Covers all regulations (or rulemakings) issued by U.S. government agencies.
Code of Federal Regulations
The annual codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
CFR - Code of Federal Regulations
A full-text searchable version of "the codification of general and permanent rules, drawn up by federal departments and agencies, which are first published in the Federal Register. From the Legal Information Institute.
Consititution Annotated: Analysis and Interpretation of the U.S. Constitution
"The authoritative source for how the Supreme Court has interpreted the Nation’s governing document."
Find Court Cases
Provides information on selected opinions of those judges of the Federal Courts who elect to make information available on this site. Although not comprehensive, the database includes District and Bankruptcy Courts from multiple states.
Supreme Court of the United States: Opinions, 1991-present
Includes the full-text of recent Opinions plus downloadable versions of the bound volumes of United States Reports issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years. Additional volumes will be included here after they are published in print form.
United States Courts Opinions
A joint project of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts to provide public access to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for the earlier time period.
Westlaw Campus Research [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.