Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Basics (Foreign and International Affairs)
CIA Library: JPRS
Freely accessible full text versions of reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) made available by the Central Intelligence Agency under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Annual reports from the U.S. State Department from 1993 to the present. Each report gives an overview of the government and economy of the country, and a detailed review of its record on human rights. Appendices include International Human Rights Conventions, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and UNHRC Voting records.
Country Studies: Area Handbook Series
Searchable versions of the Handbooks published by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army. Most books in the series deal with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political; economic; social; and national security systems and institutions; and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they're shaped by cultural factors.
The site includes Department of State and USAID foreign assistance request and appropriations data since Fiscal Year 2006. The data is broken down by country, by office, or by sector (e.g. health, security, education). In addition to charts and graphs, users can view the data in customized tables or download the raw data.
Foreign Relations of the United States
"The official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." An incomplete collection of volumes covering years beginning with 1914 is available at this site. Volumes
covering 1861-1960 are available from the University of Wisconsin.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a Federal Register Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and U.S. Statutes at Large.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports [Rutgers Restricted]
Features English-language translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world with an emphasis on communist and developing countries. Coverage includes socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and military issues and events. Reports were produced from 1957 to 1995.
Complete coverage of U.S. treaties and treaty status beginning with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 when the database was created. From the Library of Congress.
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, the Factbook includes maps and detailed information on the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries worldwide
World Treaty Index
An electronic treaty database spanning the 20th century. Indexes and provides citations to sources for full texts of multilateral and bilateral treaties.