Digital Libraries
- Library of Congress: Digital Collections
- The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.
- Digital Public Library of America
- Over 40 million "images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States."
Archival Collections at Rutgers
- Special Collections and University Archives
- Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources of a rare, unique, or specialized nature. Includes the Sinclair New Jersey Collection of printed materials (approximately 67,000 monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and serials), the largest, most comprehensive library documenting New Jersey history and culture.
- Institute of Jazz Studies The largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz and jazz-related materials in the world.
Archival Databases/Guides
- The Newark Archives Project
- The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. The collections described include papers of individuals and families; records of government agencies, organizations, and businesses; photographs and film; audio collections; and more. A wonderful, and growing, resource for finding archival materials on Newark!
- ArchiveGrid
- Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Worldcat
- Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- New Jersey Historical Society.
- The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has a rich collection of archival and other materials relating to the political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey. You can search or browse the Finding Aids to NJHS collections.
- Princeton University Findings Aids
- Over 1700 finding aids from the Princeton Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections includes the Manuscripts Division (housed at Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library).
- Manuscript Collections in the Rutgers University Libraries
- Finding Aids to a variety of collections.
- New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
- Search the Archives and Manuscripts collections included in the New York Public Library catalog. To search the full text of archival collections descriptions search AMAT, the Archival Materials Access Tool.
- Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University
- Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.
- Columbia University Archival Collections Portal
- Descriptions and finding aids for more than 3,500 archival collections in six Columbia University Libraries repositories. These collections include personal papers, institutional records, corporate archives, architectural drawings, printed ephemera, and many other types of content.
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies