Television, Radio and Film
- American Cinema of the 1960s: Themes and Variations
- Barry Keith Grant. New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 2008. Available?
- The Bad Sixties: Hollywood Memories of the Counterculture, Antiwar, and Black Power Movements
- Kristen Hoerl. Jackson, University Press of Mississippi, 2018.
- American Cinema of the 1970s: Themes and Variations
- Lester D. Friedman and Margo Natalie Crawford. New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 2007. Available?
- American Films of the 70s: Conflicting Visions
- Peter Lev. Austin, University of Texas Press, 2000.
- Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
- David A. Cook. Berkeley, University of California Press, 2002. Available?
- Hollywood's Last Golden Age: Politics, Society, and the Seventies Film in America
- Jonathan Kirshner. Ithaca, NY, Cornell University Press, 2012. Available?
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
- Indexes industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics relating to film and television. Rutgers-restricted Access
- TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- Online access to NBC and CNN news broadcasts from August 1968 to the present. In addition, the database provides indexing for nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks, ABC and CBS; abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Paley Center for Media Database
- The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of over 160,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database. Use of the Scholars Room is available to students and others affiliated with educational organizations at a rate of $16 per day; The Scholar's Room is open: Wednesdays to Fridays 12:00 to 6:00 pm, and 11:00 to 6:00 pm on Saturdays and Sundays..
- American History in Video
- Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage. Rutgers-restricted Access
Selling It
- AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials.
- A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.
- The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2020.
- More than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies