Research Guides: America in the 1960s and 1970s: The Presidents

The Presidency

American President: A Reference Resource: From the Miller Center at the University of Virginia, a nonpartisan institute "that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation’s governance challenges." For each president includes essays, speeches, bibliographies, links to presidential papers, and information on access to private and public papers.

American Presidency Project: University of California, Santa Barbara project. Digital archive of some 268,000 documents relating to the U.S. Presidency, including the Papers of the Presidents, inaugural and State of the Union addresses, transcripts and videos of presidential debates, transcripts of campaign speeches, news conferences, etc.

John F. Kennedy

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: "The Library's holdings include the papers of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Rose Kennedy, as well as close to 400 other collections: those of Kennedy family members, Kennedy administration officials and associates, and pertinent individuals, authors, and institutions. The John F. Kennedy Library also houses the Ernest Hemingway Collection and the John F. Kennedy and Robert F. Kennedy Oral History Collections."

President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection: National Archives collection of more than 5 million pages of assassination-related records, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings and artifacts (approximately 2,000 cubic feet of records). The collection is partially indexed by the JFK Database although most of these records are not available online.

Lyndon Baines Johnson

Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library: Archival collection more than 45 million pages, an extensive audiovisual collection, and 2,000 oral history interviews.

Richard Nixon

Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum: Almost 46 million pages of archival documents, 3,700 hours of tapes containing conversations from February 1971 through July 1973, video oral histories, dictabelt audio files, and photographs.

The Pentagon Papers: Secrets, Lies and Audiotapes. (The Nixon Tapes and the Supreme Court Tape): National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book Number 48. Audio and transcripts of telephone and meeting conversations detailing reactions of President Nixon and his aides to the release of the Pentagon Papers; arguments and briefs of the resulting Supreme Court case; the secret briefs and evidence submited to the Court; and the Supreme Court decision.

Watergate: A Brief History with Documents.: Stanley I. Kutler. 2nd ed. Malden, MA, Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. Available?

Nixon Grand Jury Records: Records of the Watergate Special Prosecution Force. Nixon was questioned over the period of two days, June 23 and June 24, 1975.

Watergate at 40: The Long Shadow of the 'National Nightmare.'": Washington Post commemoration. Stories, photos, and videos.

Watergate in American Memory: How We Remember, Forget, and Reconstruct the Past.: Michael Schudson. New York, Basic Books, 1992. Available?

Inside the Nixon Administration: the Secret Diary of Arthur Burns, 1969-1974.: Arthur F. Burns. Lawrence, University Press of Kansas, 2010. Available?

Gerald Ford

Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum: The 1974-77 Presidential papers of Gerald Ford and his White House staff form the core Ford Library collection in Ann Arbor. These are supplemented by the pre- and post-presidential papers of Gerald Ford, the papers of Betty Ford, collections of Federal records, and more. Archival holdings include approximately 25 million pages of documents, 450,000 photographs, 3,000 hours of audiotape, 3,500 hours of videotape, and 712,027 feet of film.

Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum: The Jimmy Carter Presidential Library houses 40,000,000 pages, 1,000,000 photographs, 2,200,000 feet of film, and 2,500 hours of video.

Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum: The Reagan Presidential Library contains paper and audiovisual collections of the Reagan Administration, 1981-1989; California Governor Reagan's papers, 1967-1975; Presidential campaign and transitional material for 1976, 1980 and 1984; and privately donated personal collections.