Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

America in the 1960s and 1970s: Counterculture

Want to Know What Else We Have?

Some relevant subject searches that you can do in the Catalog include:

Counterculture
Communal Living
Hippies
Subculture United States

Haight Ashbury

Haight Ashbury in the Sixties! [2-disc CD-ROM] 1995.
"A documentary and interactive time capsule about the Haight-Ashbury district of San Francisco during the 1960's. It contains Allen Cohen's "The Rise & Fall of the Haight-Ashbury", articles, poetry, and artwork from "The San Francisco Oracle", photos, video clips, and music by The Grateful Dead, the Jefferson Airplane, and Big Brother with Janis Joplin...Also included is "Drop Out", an interactive game for 1-6 players." Available?

Berkeley

Berkeley in the Sixties. Kirchell Films, 2002. "Present a history of Berkeley, California during the 1960's through interviews with students, activists, and use or archival news footage."

Encyclopedia

The ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America.
Neil A. Hamilton. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 1997. Available?

Hippies

Hippyland Archives
Eclectic group of documents and images from the period of the 1960s-1970s.
Hippies.
Produced by Lou Reda Productions for the History Channel, 2007.
"The film describes what happened during the 1960s and the effects of the Hippie "counter-culture" on American society right up to the present time. "

Communes

The Roots of the 1960s Communal Revival
Timothy Miller. American Studies 33(2), Fall 1992, pp.73-93.
The Farm
Founded in 1971 on 6 square miles in south central Tennessee, The Farm is still home to approximately 200 persons today.
Life on the Bus and Farm: An Informal Recollection
John Coate. 1987
Life on The Farm in the 1970s
Why We Left the Farm
Whole Earth Review Winter, 1985.
Interview with eight long-time members of the Farm who left.
Intentional Communiites
The collections on communes at the University of Massachusetts in Amherst Special Collections. Includes a digitized documentary (ca 1973) for the Brotherhood of the Spirit, "the largest commune in the United States," and the digitized New Babylon Times/Green Mountain Post, the countercultural literary magazine produced by members of the Montague Farm commune.
Drop City
"Often cited as the first rural commune of the 1960s, Drop City was an experimental community on the plains of Southern Colorado that blended practices of art, architecture, and resourceful living in ways that came to define a global counterculture...This video clip features three of the early residents of Drop City: JoAnn Bernofsky, Gene Bernofsky and Clark Richert."
Countercultural Communes: Rejection or Reflection of Conventional Mainstream Gender Norms?
Kerry L. Conlon. Thesis (M.A.). Rutgers University, 2014.
"This thesis utilizes a gendered analytical lens and a feminist framework in order to explore if the sixties countercultural communards of Colorado’s Drop City, Tennessee’s The Farm, and Virginia’s Twin Oaks achieved liberation from the mainstream gender roles that characterized post-World War II America."

Woodstock

Woodstock: Three Days of Peace and Music
Directed by Michael Wadleigh. Burbank Calif., Warner Home Video, 1997.
Restored director's cut. "This documentary film captures the unique communal experience and many of the performances of the most famous of outdoor rock concerts performed during three days at Bethel, New York." Available?
Woodstock: The Oral History.
Joel Makower. New York, Doubleday, 1989. Available?
Life at Woodstock, 1969
Photographs from Life coverage of Woodstock.

Food

Appetite for Change: How the Counterculture Took on the Food Industry.
Warren J. Belasco. 2nd updated ed. Ithaca, Cornell University Press, 2007. Available?