Federal Government

Provides an introduction to the federal judicial system, its organization, and its relationship to the legislative and executive branches of the government.

Sources for state and federal court rules, forms, and dockets. Browse or search by keyword. From the Law Library Resource XChange (LLRX).

Find a federal court location by location or court name, including appellate, district, bankruptcy, probation and pretrial office, or federal defender organization.

Provides links to a variety of resources for people doing federal legal research. Includes a Topical and Title Index to the site; a separate subject listing for Federal Laws and Regulations; sections on the Federal Judiciary and the Legislative Branch; and much more. From the Center for Regulatory Effectiveness.

An easy-to-read guide to historical documents, biographies, Supreme Court decisions, and related Court resources.

An annotated guide to online sources of information on government and law. Includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information. From the U.S. Library of Congress.

Extensive links to information on New Jersey Law; United States Federal Law; Law of Other States; Foreign Law; International Law and Human Rights; Law-Related Organizations; General Legal Sites; Law Schools, Lawyers, Legal Journals, Lists, Newsgroups, and Publishers; and Topical Legal sites. An RU Libraries Subject Research Guide.

Links to Supreme Court opinions, other Federal Court opinions, laws, and other legal material.

"A Handbook for Non- Law Librarians" in PDF format.

"Presents quick links to all major sources for U.S. Court opinions including sites for recent years, sites for recent and historical years, and subscription sites. It also "Presents direct links to court opinion sites of specific U.S. courts such as the U.S. courts of appeals as well links to opinion sites to those courts before the 1990's."

The official home page of the Supreme Court, including slip opinions, calendars, schedules, rules, bar admission forms and instructions, visitors' guides, case-handling guides, and more.

Home page of the Federal Judiciary with links to news and information about the Federal Courts and the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government. Includes some full-text publications and links to the Courts.

Annotated links to information on the Supreme Court including cases, news, history, and other research guides.

Case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, law review articles, and other types of legal content. The focus is state and federal primary source materials.

A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a Federal Register Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and U.S. Statutes at Large.

Includes a variety of full-text documents from federal courts.

Free searching of US federal and state laws, cases, and regulations.

Includes a wide range of full-text archival material broken down into U.S. Federal (executive, legislative, and judicial branches), U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added each month.

A full-text collection of legal monographs published in Great Britain and the United States from 1800 to 1926. Covers every area of the law, including commerce, labor, slavery, taxation, real property, intellectual property, criminal law and constitutional law. Complements Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970.

A full-text database of primary material in U.S. legal history. It comprises codes, subject arrangements of the law, at the federal, state and local levels; proceedings and other documents from constitutional conventions; legal dictionaries and other sources. Complements Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926.

A nearly comprehensive, full-text archive of legal documents from the Court. It comprises more than 350,000 documents from approximately 150,000 cases, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. While the database does not include Court decisions, it does include various types of briefs and petitions as well as oral transcripts, memoranda, and other types of filings.

Covers cases from the Supreme Court of the United States, and includes biographical information on justices past and present.

Allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. Registration is required.

A searchable full-text archive of nearly all U.S. Supreme Court decisions since May 1990, plus a large collection of historic decisions. Also includes a topical arrangement of decisions, and a listing of cases arranged by party name.

Includes the full-text of recent Opinions plus downloadable versions of the bound volumes of United States Reports issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years. Additional volumes will be included here after they are published in print form.

A joint project of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts to provide public access to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for the earlier time period.

Full-text database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1760 forward with search options that include party name, free text, and citation. Browse options for court, recent, and year are also provided.

Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.