Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

This subject research guide serves as a roadmap to the psychology resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries

Data Resources Provided by the Libraries

Data Services at RU
Rutgers University Libraries can assist with most of your data needs. Please see the data services guide:

Ryan Womack is the RUL librarian who specializes in data. Please see his comprehensive guide to data services linked here. Please contact Ryan Womack with specific data questions (contact information within guide).

See also the comprehensive guide to data resources on the Social Work PhD guide (by Hartman). This guide provides many useful links for finding data on research topics in psychology.

All about research data management at Rutgers
This is a one shop stop for information on data services at Rutgers and includes contact information
more...less...
All about research data management at Rutgers

NSF and other open data mandates

Many funders now require Data Management Plans. Whether you need help with the DMPTool, or just want to consult, the Libraries can provide assistance and expertise. Please contact Laura Palumbo, Science Data Specialist (for NB Libraries) at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu. If you need consulting around issues of open access to publications or other research outputs, please contact Laura Bowering Mullen at lbmullen@rutgers.edu (or see the tab labelled Rutgers Open Access Policy and SOAR on the top of this guide. For discussion around open science and psychology, please see chapters of the book manuscript, Scholarly Communication and Open Access in Psychology: Current Considerations for Researchers (Draft).

Subject Repositories for Psychology Data (freely accessible)

NIH's Open Domain-Specific Data Sharing Repositories
NIH makes available this list of data repositories; searchable by your topic or just broad subject area of psychology.
more...less...
Search a topic or broad category for NIH-vetted subject repositories.
re3data.org: Registry of Research Data Repositories (from DataCite)
Searching "psychology" or "neuroscience" in this list of data repositories from DataCite may assist in finding a suitable repository for your data, or to discover data sets in your areas of research.
more...less...
search "psychology" ("Neuroscience" for credible list of subject data repositories)
GenBank Overview
Publicly available DNA sequences
more...less...
DNA sequencing data from NCBI
RCSB PDB
Protein Data Bank is a world renowned data archive, described on its website as "The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. These are the molecules of life that are found in all organisms including bacteria, yeast, plants, flies, other animals, and humans. Understanding the shape of a molecule helps to understand how it works. This knowledge can be used to help
more...less...
Search PDB for data and structures related to specific conditions in psychology/psychiatry areas
SAMHDA Site
From their site: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) promotes the access and use of the nation's preeminent substance abuse and mental health research data by assuring accurate public use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health. We are committed to using innovative methods to optimize data utility for a diverse audience."
more...less...
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
Resource Center for Minority Data
Resource Center for Minority Data's mission statement states in part "The mission for the Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) is to provide educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.RCMD provides access and analytic tools enhancements to use of the vast array of available data. The archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of
more...less...
Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) is part of ICPSR
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program
From the NAHDAP website: "NAHDAP acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. By preserving and making available an easily accessible library of electronic data on drug addiction and HIV infection in the United States, NAHDAP offers scholars the opportunity to conduct secondary analysis on major issues of social and behavioral sciences and public policy."
more...less...
Drug Addiction and HIV data (U.S.)
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) | Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
From the GHDx site:"The GHDx is a data catalog listing information about microdata, aggregated data, and research results with a focus on health-related and demographic datasets. We point to the data providers where possible, and we will increasingly provide public data for download on the GHDx."
more...less...
Global health related datasets from the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation

Data Journals in Psychology

Journal of Open Psychology Data
The Journal of Open Psychology Data (JOPD) features peer reviewed data papers describing psychology datasets with high reuse potential. Data papers may describe data from unpublished work, including replication research, or from papers published previously in a traditional journal. We are working with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and openly available. Equally importantly, the data and the papers are citable, and reuse is tracked.
more...less...
Journals are now starting to make actual data available as the focus of the article
Archives of Scientific Psychology (open access journal with data from APA)
New APA open access journal: An Open Methodology,
Collaborative Data Sharing,
Open Access Journal.
more...less...
An Open Methodology,
Collaborative Data Sharing,
Open Access Journal from APA

More Data Resources at Rutgers University Libraries

Rutgers University Libraries: Data Services
A guide to, and contact for, Rutgers Libraries data services
Data Literacy: Resources and Tools
This is a collection of information resources on data literacy. Users can find links to courses, workshops, tools, tutorials, videos, webinars, and other resources related to data literacy.
more...less...
Guide by Yingting Zhang, Research Services Librarian, RBHS.