Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences: Indexes to Articles

This subject research guide serves as a roadmap to the psychology resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries

Finding articles and using library indexes and databases

Tutorials and other search aids for psychology

Excellent tutorials for using PsycINFO (OvidSP) to do research in psychology

PsycINFO searching with OvidSP - Short tutorial videos from APA. An example is "how to find three peer reviewed articles on your topic using PsycInfo."

Citation Indexes

Citation Indexes

Web of Science
Online version of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index combined. Retrospective online back to 1984.
For source information for back years, you must use SCI at LSM Ref. Z7401.S365 or at SMITH Storage (shelved by title) and SSCI at ALEX, DANA and ANNEX Ref.Z161.S65.

Use Web of Science's "Cited reference search," and start with an author search when seeking citation metrics for an article or an author.

Also, use Google Scholar and the limited results from PsycINFO. Also valuable for citation searching in behavioral sciences is Elsevier's database "Scopus." Rutgers Libraries does not currently subscribe to Scopus. For information on journal ranking, core lists, or other issues of citation analysis or metrics in psychology, please send an email to lbmullen@rci.rutgers.edu

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
The source to use for journal "impact factors;" not as strong for psychology areas as for other areas of science. JCR is to evaluate journals, not individuals or articles. Make sure to choose "science" or "social science" when starting your search.

Find these indexes on the alphabetical list of databases. Go to the front of the library homepage, see the search box and the blue link to "View all databases."

Dissertation Indexes

Please see the ProQuest index "Dissertations and Theses" in the "indexes" box to the right. This index covers U.S dissertation literature from 1861 to the present. All Rutgers dissertations from 1997 to the present are available free in full text from this index.

Rutgers disserations can also be found by searching RUCore from the libraries' homepage. Many RU dissertations are available as part of our Electronic Dissertations and Theses (ETDs) collection (found in RUCore).

Historically, the libraries collected print copies of dissertations, and they are held in the library that covers the subject area. Check the library catalog under author or title when searching for older dissertations. These materials do circulate and may be borrowed.

WorldCat

WorldCat is a large database where almost any book or journal can be identified. Use the FIND pull down menu to find WorldCat from the library homepage. A subject search of WorldCat can identify a corpus of book literature on that topic. WorldCat could be considered the "world's library catalog" and has very robust search capability for finding books especially. Also used to verify journal titles.

Indexes to Journal Literature in Psychology

PsycINFO is the major database for psychology. Because the study of psychology includes material from a wide variety of research areas, articles dealing with topics in psychology can be found in most indexes.  All indexes and and databases may also be accessed from library homepage by clicking on "Databases" in the list of resources.  You will see subject and alphabetical lists of all of our databases, or you can click ion any of the psychology-related indexes/databases here:

Search Tip: Start your search for articles by using the large search box right up on top of the library homepage (QuickSearch) You will be searching across many library databases at once in a "one stop" article search. You will aslo discover ebooks and ot

Psychology/Behavioral Sciences Librarian; Open Access Specialist

Laura Bowering Mullen's picture
Laura Bowering Mullen
Contact:
Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine
165 Bevier Road
Busch Campus
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8009
lbmullen@rutgers.edu (email is the best way to contact me)
848-445-3663

http://orcid.org/0000-0002-9847-5949

For access to selected publications, please see:
http://soar.libraries.rutgers.edu/bib/Laura_Bowering_Mullen/

PubMed and Medline: What's the difference

Medline is only a part of the PubMed database. RUL has access to Medline through other vendors (while listing PubMed on our indexes and databases list) because the enhanced search capability provided. Currently, linking to full text of articles directly through PubMed often is not available. Please look up journal titles in the library catalog or in the 'A to Z' list (Electronic Journals List) to see if RUL subscribes.

Using Google Scholar with Rutgers Subscriptions

In order to access Rutgers subscriptions through Google Scholar, searchers should access Google Scholar by logging in (if off campus) and finding the index on our alphabetical list of Databases (see "Databases" on our Libraries homepage). Logging in an accessing Google Scholar as one of the Rutgers databases allows Rutgers subscribed materials to rise to the top of the search results and show more obvious linking to full text options.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.