Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rutgers University Libraries has a rich collection of video material for use in classes, or for individual viewing
Videos of Counseling Sessions
Counseling and Therapy in Video, vols 1 and 2
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides a rich online collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos are presented from multiple perspectives and include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, lectures, and synchronized, searchable transcripts. Users can browse by subject, therapist, therapy type, theme and video type. User-created playlists and clips can also be developed.
The Rutgers libraries subscribe to a video series from Alexander Street Press which includes actual videos of counseling sessions. There is a new product coming into the market from the APA entitled "PsycTHERAPY" which RU does not yet have.
Other sources of Psychology video clips
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) provides a single platform for cross-searching American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library, and VAST: Academic Video Online. Many of the individual titles are transcribed and indexed in depth. For tips on using videos for your class or making clips, please see section 3 of this handy guide: http://alexanderstreet.com/sites/default/files/misc/Video_QR_guide.pdf
Docuseek2 Complete Collection, 2nd ed.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection is a collection of recent documentary films focusing on contemporary issues in a variety of disciplines, including psychology, and more. These films are on the Alexander Street Press platform. There are currently 1500+ films in the collection, and more films will be added throughout the year 2020, bringing the total number to 1800. Once the collection reaches 1800 titles at the end of 2020, it will be complete, We have added the 1500+ titles to QuickSearch; as new films are released through 2020, they will be added in batches. We own all the films in this collection perpetually.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in an innovative video format. JoVE takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research. The video-articles in JoVE visualize experiments in life sciences laboratories including medical procedures. JoVE films and edits videos of researchers performing experimental techniques at universities in the fields of biology, medicine, chemistry, and physics.
Finding Psychology Videos in Rutgers Libraries
Rutgers University Libraries acquires videos and makes them available for use. Videos are included in QuickSearch from the library homepage.
Tips for searching:
How Do I find video or audio information?
To find video or audio material, start with QuickSearch. For general information on using this new search tool, visit the QuickSearch help page.
- Enter your search term(s). If you wish, you can use Advanced Search to further define your search.
- Once you have a list of results, use the options at the left to narrow your search to video or audio by selecting your preferred format(s) (e.g., Audio, Video, Audio Visual) from the Resource Type list.
- Select any title from the results list to view the complete details for that item. If it is available to stream, it will be "Available Online." Click on the link under "Full text availability" to access the content.
Use of QuickSearch will retrieve *ALL* our titles, including those in NJVid, and those in remotely served packages, such as "Filmakers Library Online" from Alexander Street Press.
Media (either owned by the Libraries or requests for new purchases) can be placed on reserve using the reserves request form. For questions, send us an email.
There are viewing locations in Douglass Library and smaller facilities (20 students maximum) in Alexander Library and Carr Library. Robeson Library has a suite of playback stations in its Reference Section, on the first floor.
More information on using videos in the classroom and more can be found at:
More Video databases available from RUL
Click through to a list of some other sources of easy access video at RU Libraries
Video and Audio Resources in Library Databases
Some other sources of video for classroom use (most not strictly psychology)
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Professionally edited videos of actual experiments. JoVE takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research. The video-articles in JoVE visualize experiments in life sciences laboratories including medical procedures. JoVE films and edits videos of researchers performing experimental techniques at universities in the fields of biology, medicine, chemistry, and physics.
Currently leased feature films availble to RU individuals and course
The Libraries now lease over 120 feature films from Swank. For no extra charge, they are available for use in any course by any instructor, even if it's just for a student who wants to write a paper.
They cover many topics -- American studies, history, politics, culture, gender, and cinema studies being most prominent. The RU Media librarians can email a link for the course's CMS to any instructor who asks. See the URL above or http://libguides.rutgers.edu/OnlineVideo
for an overview of these services.
Selected Psychology Videos held by RU libraries
Psychology/Behavioral Sciences Librarian; Open Access Specialist
Rutgers Libraries on YouTube