Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

This subject research guide serves as a roadmap to the psychology resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries

Behavioral Sciences Librarian; Open Access Specialist

Profile Photo
Laura Bowering Mullen
Contact:
Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine
165 Bevier Road
Busch Campus
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8009
lbmullen@rutgers.edu (email is the best way to contact me)
848-445-3663

http://orcid.org/0000-0002-9847-5949

For access to selected publications, please see:
http://soar.libraries.rutgers.edu/bib/Laura_Bowering_Mullen/

Psychology Librarians by Campus

For inquiries related to behavioral sciences/psychology services or collections in New Brunswick/Piscataway,

please contact Laura Bowering Mullen at

lbmullen@rutgers.edu

For inquiries about behavioral sciences/psychology  services and collections in Newark Dana Library,

please contact Bonnie Fong at

bonnie.fong@rutgers.edu

For questions about behavioral sciences services and collections at our Camden Paul Robeson Library,

please contact: Samantha Kannegiser  at

Getting Started with Using the Rutgers Libraries to do Psychology Research

Welcome to the Rutgers University Libraries. Our goal is to provide the collections and services that are to be expected from a major research library, and to make sure we are serving the needs of our university community. Psychology materials, at one time, were mainly housed at the Library of Science and Medicine on the Busch Campus-with collections also housed at the Newark and Camden campuses. Now, many of our journal (and many ebook) collections are online and available remotely to all researchers at all locations.  So, please use the search box on the front of the library website (QuickSearch) to access the materials that you will need-before traveling to the library. You may use QuickSearch to find both books, journals, articles and other scholarly content. Much of what you likely need for your research will be found online, and if we don't have access to (or own) any other material you need, we also provide rapid delivery of any material (to your email in the case of articles).  Please contact Laura Mullen at lbmullen@rutgers.edu if you need any assistance, or have suggestions to offer. Thank you.

See: Welcome to the Rutgers University Libraries to connect with us on Facebook, etc.

Library News of Interest to Psychology

This section will be used to relay any important messages about new psychology resources or library issues. Please contact Laura Mullen with any questions or suggestions: lbmullen@rutgers.edu

1. APA Style 7th edition paperbacks have arrived in the RU libraries!  Please see available copies at: http://bit.ly/37rWzJp.

***Please note that temporary free online access to the Publication Manual of the APA (7th edition) that was available due to the pandemic has ended. Most library copies are unavailable for loan at present.  There is no official online version of the Publication Manual of the APA 7th edition available to universities. There is print and personal online access to the Publication Manual of the APA, 7th edition, 2020 for individual purchase. However, there is also a wealth of information online to help. For all information about APA style and current resources, please see the APA Style tab on this guide.

2. The New Brunswick Libraries are offering a series of free data workshops; all are welcome!

Spring 2023 workshop information now available!

The New Brunswick Libraries Spring 2023 workshop schedule is now available at 

https://libcal.rutgers.edu/nblworkshops These open workshops provide an introduction to research tools and methods such as Python, R, Digital Humanities, data visualization, data science topics, systematic reviews, and data management plans. Workshops are open to all members of the Rutgers community. The workshop calendar will be updated as new workshops are added throughout the semester. You can either bookmark the link above, or visit the "News, Events, and Workshops" page on the Libraries website at https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/new-brunswick/news-events-workshops Workshops will be held online primarily via Zoom (or occasionally Webex). Register to receive instructions on how to connect. As conditions permit, some workshops may repeat as in-person workshops later in the semester. Workshops begin as early as Wednesday, January 25!

Additional workshops on High Performance Computing are offered by OARC.  See their calendar and resources for more information.

3. RUL has acquired the APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology. You may access it by clicking on the "Encyclopedias" tab above this guide, or by searching the library catalog (QuickSearch) on the library website. Search by title: APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology

4. For information on the University's Open and Affordable Textbook program, please see:

https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/open-textbooks

5. The Rutgers Open Access Policy and information on making your work open access

Please visit the SOAR website for information on the policy, the Senate resolution, to deposit your work, or to request presentations, consultation, or other services. Please contact Laura Mullen with any questions, or to discuss any aspect of OA or the Policy.

From the SOAR website:

This Rutgers Open Access Policy ensures the widest dissemination of Rutgers scholarship via the SOAR (Scholarly Open Access at Rutgers, soar.rutgers.edu) website and suite of services. Depositing work in SOAR, which is crawled by Google, allows articles to circulate worldwide on the internet. Researchers without access to subscriptions will be able to access the results of Rutgers research. When an article is accepted for publication (post peer review, all revisions complete), Rutgers faculty, doctoral students and postdocs should upload the author version (typically a Word doc or PDF) to SOAR at soar.rutgers.edu. SOAR staff take care of researching all permissions and handle other issues. Please send all inquiries about the OA policy, SOAR, or any open access issues to Laura Bowering Mullen at lbmullen(at)rutgers.edu. All questions welcomed!

 

6. Open Access Textbooks: many sources under the Open Educational Resources (OER) tab above. You may want to choose open access textbooks for your course(s), and there are many options to find one at the OER tab (specific to psychology) above.
One example: Check out this open access textbook builder for psychology: Knowledge Evolved/Noba (more info under tab "Open Educational Resources (OERs)" See:

http://nobaproject.com/.

7. Recently Acquired Psychology-related Databases at RUL (please see "Databases" on the library homepage for the full alphabetical list):

Docuseek2 for some psychology video content (See the videos tab above for more)

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Sage Research Methods (new content added)

Added content to Counseling and Therapy in Video, V.1 and 2

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.