Addiction Studies Librarian
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
Research Help from the Libraries
This page is meant to provide help with your research in the Rutgers University Libraries. If you are in need of treatment or intervention in New Jersey, please contact the Addiction Treatment Services at the Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services, Department of Human Services, State of New Jersey, or the SAMSHA National Helpline.
Get Help from the Library
Frequently Asked Questions: If you want to start looking up what others have already asked
BEST for short answers, finding a solution to move on or how to continue troubleshooting.
EXAMPLES: finding quick help related to RUL practices, policies, and resources, or finding guidance and instructions on how to proceed and whom to contact, with options to do that.
Chat: There are librarians online 24 hours a day, 365 days a year
BEST for instant answers, brief interactions, short troubleshooting.
EXAMPLES: asking for quick help, locating or downloading full text of a known article, reporting or verifying an error, clarifying a minor detail, help to decide what database to use, short literature search, etc.
Email: Send questions to a team of librarians and library staff via email. Most questions get a response within 24 hours!
BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require access to borrowing records
EXAMPLES: questions on research, collections, and library sessions; troubleshooting requests such as on reserves and library accounts
Direct help from a librarian: schedule a meeting with a subject specialist
BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require more time
EXAMPLES: discussing library instruction for your course, finding resources for your class
Research Guides: Our subject research guides will help you find a wealth of information on your topic
BEST for general overview, orientation, finding basic resources
EXAMPLES: identify databases for a topic, find resources for a paper, check citation styles
Find Library Materials The stuff everyone wants to know how to do!
BEST for finding, accessing, and requesting materials
EXAMPLES: articles, books, data & stats, course materials, and video
Related Research Guides
There are literally hundreds of research guides, also called LibGuides, which may serve as a great starting point. Browse the various Research Guides on the RUL page or see the most relevant guides below.
- Alcohol StudiesResources from the former Center of Alcohol Studies, including journals and other sources for substance use studies.
- Agricultural ScienceThe main guide for Agriculture, covering Agriculture and Resource Economics, Animal Sciences, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management, Horticultural & Landscape Architecture, and Soil & Crop Sciences.
- Botany and Plant SciencesResearch resources for the study of botany and plant systematics.
- Business Databases: A Quick GuideThis guide will lead you to many of the Rutgers-restricted databases (as well as a few Web resources) which are useful for business research on companies, industries, markets, and topics.
- Business NewsSome of the many business-related electronic news sources available on the Internet.
- Congressional ResearchA guide to locating print and online materials from the United States Congress.
- Federal GovernmentA rich source of information on how to find information related to the federal government.
- Market ResearchThis guide includes pointers to many important sources of statistical data on income, consumption, and demographics, to help you understand and define the market for your product or service. Includes New Jersey resources.
- NewspapersA guide to many newspaper sites with online searchable archives, as well as to physical collections of newspapers.
- Nutrition and Food ScienceIntroduction to resources wiith articles, databases, books, and more to help you search for Nutrition and Food Science information.
- PatentsA comprehensive guide created by patent librarian, Connie Wu at the Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine (LSM), a depository library for United States patents and trademarks.
- Public HealthA guide to resources in various areas of public health from RBHS.
- Research Regulatory AffairsFederal, NJ, and other states regulatory affairs, NGOs, think tanks, and more.