Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Just Think Twice
Comprehensive information from the United States Government, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) website. Searchable by drugs. Includes drug paraphernalia.
Marijuana Fact Sheet
Downloadable Fact Sheet from the United States Government, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) website.
Marijuana information from the National Institute of Drug Abuse
Comprehensive information including fact sheets, research reports, policy briefs, publications, and a blog.
Marijuana: Medline Plus
Includes some of the basics as well as to statistics, research, and more. From the National Library of Medicine.
Offers access to Federal Executive Branch datasets as "raw" data and through various tools and apps. Includes data on population, education, business, health, science and technology, geography and environment, and many other areas. Additional material and material on additional subjects is being added on a continuing basis.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
Maintained by SAMHDA, the site offers easy access to substance use and mental health data for analyses.
Data and Dissemination from SAMHSA
Listing reports and data tables from SAMSHA in chronological order with links to sources.
Monitoring the Future from NIDA
Since 1975 the MTF survey has measured drug and alcohol use and related attitudes among adolescent students nationwide.
Data and Statistics page from CDC
Lists surveys covering a variety of marijuana-related issues, including data around usage, emergency room data, substance use and abuse data, policy measures, and other related tools.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
Browse or search to find current federal regulations.
Includes U.S.Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register (1936-Present), Presidential materials, Public and Private Laws (1995/96-Present), Congressional bills (1993/94-Present). Congressional hearings (1995/96-Present), Congressional reports (104th Congress to Present) Congressional documents (1975/76-Present).
For New Jersey government sources visit the New Jersey page of this guide.
State Medical Marijuana Laws
Information on the laws in the states and territories of the United States with links to related resources. From the National Council on State Legislatures.
Statewide Ballot Measures Database
Select the election and the year (or select All) and enter marijuana as a keyword to find state referenda on the issue. Results include the status of the vote and a summary. The database includes legislation from the late 1800s to the present.
Sample Official State Marijuana Portals
California | Cannabis Portal
"Information related to the state’s commercial cannabis regulations and guidelines, the licensing application process, and important announcements from the state’s three cannabis licensing authorities and sister agencies."
Colorado | Marijuana
Includes information on legal use, health effects, responsible use, and shareable resources.
Oregon | Marijuana and Hemp (Cannabis)
Rules from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, which oversees Marijuana and Hemp issues in the state.
Washington | Liquor and Cannabis Board
Rules and regulations from the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board.