Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected resources collected by the Law Library and adapted for current guide. For more resources, please visit the full Law Research Guide by law librarian Rebecca Kunkel.
Major Web Resources - New Jersey
LSNJLaw - You & the Law in N.J.
Legal information for the layperson (at Legal Services of New Jersey).
N.J. Admin. Code & Register
Free public access to the New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register from July 1995 through the latest issue.
N.J. Admin. Law Decisions
Decisions of administrative law judges from Oct.1997 forward (at Rutgers Newark Law Library).
N.J. Attorney General
Guidelines & Directives
N.J. Courts Search Page (Rutgers)
Opinions of Supreme Court from March 1994 forward, Appellate Division and Tax Court from Sept. 1995 forward (at Rutgers Newark Law Library).
N.J. Executive Orders
Governor's executive orders from 1990 forward, with selected earlier ones.
N.J. Courts (official website)
Court rules; opinions of last 10 days; forms; civil docket information; guidance for pro se litigants; personnel directory; administrative directives; notices to the bar; mass tort information; calendars & schedules; . . .
Includes the New Jersey Permanent Statutes Database, Chapter Laws from 1996 forward, Legislative Bills from 1996 forward, & Public Hearings from 1996 forward.
N.J. State Bar Foundation publications
Downloadable PDFs of layperson-oriented publications on New Jersey legal topics.
N.J. Statutes (Rutgers)
Offers full-text searching, easier browsing than the version on the Legislature's site, and automated retrieval of cases citing the statutes (to the extent the cases are in the Rutgers database).
Secondary Sources and Databases
Major Web Resources United States Law
Choose "search legal opinions & journals," or use Advanced Search to specify jurisdiction. Has state case law from 1950 forward and federal case law from 1923 forward. For law journal articles , links to HeinOnline, and to free versions when possible.
Includes U.S.Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register (1936-Present), Presidential materials, Public and Private Laws (1995/96-Present), Congressional bills (1993/94-Present). Congressional hearings (1995/96-Present), Congressional reports (104th Congress to Present) Congressional documents (1975/76-Present).
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
Includes: the U.S.Code; an annotated U.S. Constitution; an interface to the Code of Federal Regulations; links to legal materials of all states; and the "Wex" collaborative legal dictionary and encyclopedia.
Free access to written opinions, and low-cost access to other case documents, for cases in the federal district courts, bankruptcy courts, and courts of appeals.
Presidential Documents Archive
Includes all available messages and papers, executive orders and proclamations, and bill signing statements.
Part of the American Presidency Project at University of California, Santa Barbara.
Supreme Court of the United States
Includes: opinions from 2009 Term forward; U.S. Reports bound volumes (PDFs) v. 502 forward; slip opinions of the current term; Special Master Reports in original jurisdiction cases, 1989 forward; oral argument transcripts, Oct.2000 forward.
Congressional bills and Public Laws from 103rd Congress (1993) forward; Congressional Record and Congressional Committee Reports from 104th Congress (1995) forward.
United States Courts
Includes federal court rules, forms, statistics of court business, and biographical information on federal judges from 1789 forward.
Related Guides from RU Law Library