Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QuickSearch provides access to the physical collections of the Rutgers Libraries and most, but not all, of its electronic resources. Try also the Advanced Search option for more sophisticated searches. Searching is open to everyone, but much of the full-text access is Rutgers-restricted. For more results or to focus results on a specific discipline, consider using one or more of the multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases (mostly Rutgers-restricted).
Start your Research with QuickSearch
- Start with QuickSearch, available through the Libraries website, which searches across multiple databases in a single interface.
- Visit the QuickSearch Help page for more information about how to benefit from it.
- For help finding articles within specific databases, see instructions on how to build a search.
- For help getting the full-text article, see your options.
Getting Started with QuickSearch
Saving Searches and Results in QuickSearch
Searching with QuickSearch: Resource Types
When you enter your keywords in the search box, you will retrieve various types of resources:
- Books and book chapters
- Scholarly articles
- Newspaper articles
- Reference entries
- Web sites
- Audio and video recordings
- Archival materials
- Government documents
TIP: Use Resource Type on the left to narrow down to types you wish to see
TIP: Research is an iterative process. As your research topic evolves, you may want to come back and run more searches to your ideas and support your thoughts.
Searching with QuickSearch: Subject
Subject terms are "tags" used for a preferred term for a particular concept, area, discipline, etc. in various databases - basically, the way a database or catalog defines a topic.
Searching by subject (instead of searching for your term in the full text of articles) can be a quick and efficient way to find resources on your topic. Subject terms may vary from database to database.
TIP: Use the Subjects listed in the left panel for your search
TIP: Once you found a few good articles, look at the "subjects" they have as tags and incorporate those terms in your next search
Searching with QuickSearch: Time constraints
QuickSearch results are listed by relevance by default for your convenience. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results. then you may want to look into Sorting by Date for the latest items.
TIP: Creation Date in the left panel will help to look at a particular time period
More than QuickSearch: Suggested Databases
Continue your search in one of the many multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases brought to you by Rutgers University Libraries, such as:
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Contains peer-reviewed scholarly journals, magazines, several major newspapers, and a limited number of books, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
Abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. A majority of the titles are published outside of the United States. This resource is both international and interdisciplinary in scope.
ProQuest Sociology Database
It provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals.
It provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed.
A database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites. Use Google Scholar to access full text articles available through Rutgers University Libraries via the Libraries home page.