Marijuana
The Language of Marijuana
Marijuana has many synonyms. Various databases might use different terms as subject headings (i.e., tags indicating the main topic of the article). For example, most medical databases will follow the MeSH (Medical Subject Heading), cannabis. Psychology databases may use cannabis or marijuana, business and social science databases prefer marijuana.
MeSH term: Cannabis
The plant genus in the Cannabaceae plant family, Urticales order, Hamamelidae subclass. The flowering tops are called many slang terms including pot, marijuana, hashish, bhang, and ganja. The stem is an important source of hemp fiber.
Synonyms
Hashish; Hashishs; Hemps; Hemp; Plant, Hemp; Hemp Plant; Marihuana; Marijuana; Plants, Hemp; Cannabi; Hemp Plants; Bhangs; Bhang; Cannabis indica; Cannabis sativa; Ganja; Ganjas
Related MeSH term: Marijuana Use
Synonyms: Marijuana-Related Disorder; Marijuana-Related Disorders; Disorders, Marijuana-Related; Marijuana Related Disorder; Disorder, Marijuana-Related; Marijuana Uses, Recreational; Use, Recreational
Related MeSH term: Cannabinoids
Source: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), National Library of Medicine
Click on the book cover to access the ebook through the catalog
Find eBooks
Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page.
- Enter your search term(s), you will get a list of results.
- Use the left panel to narrow down to eBook.
- Under ‘Resource Types” select Book.
- Under “Limit to” select Available Online.
- Select any title from the results list to view the complete details, including the link for online access.
- How to find ebooksTips from the Books We Read group on how to find electronic books, including advanced database options.
- The latest ebooksBrowse titles recently added to the collection.
Selected Books
Legalizing Cannabis by ISBN: 1138370908Publication Date: 2020-02-25How should we evaluate the models of cannabis legalization as they have been implemented in several jurisdictions in the past few years? Which scenarios for future cannabis legalization have been developed elsewhere, and how similar/different are they from the models already implemented? What lessons from the successes and failures experienced with the regulation of other psychoactive substances can be translated to the effective regulation of cannabis markets?
Cannabis for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119550662Publication Date: 2019-05-07It presents the science behind the use of this amazingly therapeutic plant, including hands-on knowledge and education you need to make an informed decision about your cannabis purchase, as a patient and a consumer.
The Politics of Marijuana by ISBN: 9781433156243Publication Date: 2019-08-13It explores the socio-political dimensions of cannabis as the world transitions from Harry Anslinger's Reefer Madness prohibition to an as-yet-to-be-defined future. This book brings together a wide variety of perspectives on the past, present, and fast-changing future of cannabis.
Cannabis on Campus by ISBN: 9781138039117Publication Date: 2018-01-24Cannabis on Campus is a comprehensive resource on the implications of marijuana legalization for college campuses. The authors use their considerable experience in college alcohol and other drug (AOD) counseling to provide a sweeping look at the cannabis culture found in our universities.
Cannabis Consulting by ISBN: 9781512601107Publication Date: 2018-07-03Cannabis Consulting is both a handbook and a report from the front lines of medical marijuana use. It was written for the patients, families, law enforcement, and health professionals all trying to make decisions about cannabis at this critical era of transition.
Cannabis by ISBN: 1138303240Publication Date: 2018-04-26This book presents information to healthcare professionals focusing on medical cannabis. It is a science-based overview providing clinical recommendations and dosing guidelines for practitioners to advise patients appropriately.
Cannabis sativa by ISBN: 3319545647Publication Date: 2017This book highlights current Cannabis research: its botany, authentication, biotechnology, in vitro propagation, chemistry, cannabinoids biosynthesis, metabolomics, genomics, biomass production, quality control, and pharmacology.
Craft Weed by ISBN: 0262038862Publication Date: 2018-11-13Ryan Stoa argues that the future of the marijuana industry should be powered by small farms-that its model should be more craft beer than Anheuser-Busch. Stoa interviews veteran and novice marijuana growers, politicians, activists, and investors. [...] Craft Weed makes clear that marijuana legalization has the potential to revitalize rural communities and the American family farm.
Find Streaming Videos
Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page
- Search for a topic of interest in the QuickSearch searchbox
- Check "Limit To" "Available Online" in the left panel
- Filter by “Resource Type” in the left panel to “Video”
- Once you have found a title, click on “View Online”
- Log in with your NetID to watch the selected video
You can also search one of the popular video databases (Rutgers-restricted):
Selected Videos
- Going to PotThis segment of Sunday Morning is about marijuana legalization in Colorado. (Streaming video, 8 min).
- The Medicine in MarijuanaAcross centuries and cultures, people have told stories about the healing powers of cannabis, but the plural of anecdote is not evidence. Now, the science is catching up with the stories. (Streaming video, 35 min)
- A life of its own: the truth about medical marijuanaA documentary dedicated to providing clarity and understanding around one of the world's most stigmatised and controversial issues - medicinal cannabis. (Streaming video, 81 min)
- The marijuana revolutionThis two-hour special from HISTORY will take a 360-degree look at the growing industry that is marijuana.
- 60 minutes. Colorado potBill Whitaker checks in on Colorado after becoming the first state to legalize recreational pot. (Streaming video, 13:45 min)
- Billion dollar cropDoctors, agronomists, farmers, and manufacturers comment on the value of hemp, or cannabis fibre, especially to the Australian agricultural economy. (Streaming video, 55 min)
- American drug war. 2, Cannabis destinyThe film follows the traumatic story of a young boy named Cash Hyde who is repeatedly denied cannabis oil, the only medicine that appears to shrink his brain tumor. (Streaming video, 90 min)
More Videos
- Marijuana Videos from Alexander StreetA selection of related titles. (Rutgers-restricted.)
- Grass is GreenerA Netflix documentary from 2019 following the history of marijuana in the US. It focuses on racial disparities in the cannabis market pointing out issues with legalization to that effect.
Find Databases
HINT: There is no single database to search for such a complex topic. Although there is some overlap, each database has its unique coverage of scholarly journals. Please consider using several, choosing from a broad range.
On the Rutgers University Libraries homepage, select Databases under Resources.On the Indexes and databases page, you can browse by Subject or find a database by name, if you know what you are looking for.
Select from hundreds of databases in the following disciplines. Read the description to learn about topics and coverage.
- Agriculture/Plant and Animal Sciences
- Biology/Botany/Zoology
- Environmental Sciences
- Food Science and Nutrition
- General Science/Multidisciplinary
- Medicine
- Patents and Trademarks
- Psychology/Behavioral Sciences
Access to restricted resources for Rutgers off-campus users will require authentication using NetID. Log in when prompted.
See also box entitled More than QuickSearch for suggested databases.