News from NJ State
- Cannabis Regulatory Commission newsFollow the news from the Cannabis Regulatory Commission, the State of New Jersey.
In the News
- Adult-use cannabis sales set to begin in New JerseyStarting on Thursday, April 21. Individuals 21 years and older will be able to purchase cannabis and cannabis products legally without a medical card. From the Cannabis Regulatory Commission, the State of New Jersey, April 14, 2022.
- N.J. just began accepting applications to grow recreational marijuana. Hundreds started the process."The Murphy Administration began accepting applications from cannabis growers, product manufacturers and testing labs on Wednesday — the first step that will usher in the legitimate marijuana industry New Jersey voters endorsed in a referendum 13 months ago." From NJ.com, December 15, 2021.
- Can Atlantic City become Jersey’s weed destination?Atlantic City is well-placed to be a major player in that new industry. The city has the entertainment, the dining and the existing accommodations for a huge influx of visitors. It also has the beach. City officials are already thinking big. From pressofaglanticcity.com. December 13, 2021.
- N.J. Pot Sales to Start Within 180 Days, Years After Murphy VowNewark, with rail access to New York City, is working on fees for cultivators, manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers. Jersey City, one train stop from Manhattan, in June approved areas where the businesses may set up. From Bloomberg, August 19, 2021.
- No bans on marijuana in Franklin TownshipTown council embraces all six facets of the weed economy: delivery, retail, distribution, wholesale, manufacturing and cultivation. March 24, 2021.
- Local town introduces ordinances to ban marijuanaRead about Bridgewater township council introducing four separate ordinances on March 18 that would prohibit cannabis operations, marijuana establishments, consumption of cannabis on public property and the use of recreational cannabis. The public hearing is scheduled for the council’s next virtual meeting April 5. March 21, 2021.
- New Jersey Police See Trouble as New Marijuana Laws Decriminalize Underage Drinking, TooArticle with details on the effects of new laws on people under 21 of age with lists of what the law establishes and what is no longer illegal. March 8, 2021.
- Marijuana Is Legal in New Jersey, but Sales Are Months AwayGov. Philip D. Murphy on Monday signed into law three bills that effectively permit and regulate the use of recreational marijuana in New Jersey, however, Legal sales likely remain months away at the earliest. The New York Times, February 22, 2021.
- N.J. lawmakers pass legal weed bill in historic vote.The latest: lawmakers passed a historic bill that establishes rules and regulations for legal cannabis sales. From nj.com, December 17, 2020.
- Marijuana Legalization: Your Questions AnsweredRutgers Law School’s Stuart Green talks about proposed legislation to legalize marijuana and how long it could be until it’s available to the public. Rutgers Today, November 16, 2020.
- Can you be arrested for smoking marijuana, now that weed is 'legal'?"As of this moment, marijuana technically is still illegal." - article in Asbury Park Press, November 4, 2020.
- Recreational Marijuana Legalized by New Jersey VotersNew York Times announces that New Jersey voters authorized the legal use of recreational marijuana. November 3, 2020.
History: NJ Map by George Cook
Button design from Rutgers SCUA/Chang: Geological map of New Jersey from the State Geological Survey of 1868 by George H. Cook. (1872)
Click on map to view larger, zoomable image in the David Rumsey Map Collection
Rutgers Study on Marijuana in NJ
- Cannabis Legalization in New Jersey: A Baseline Study
"The New Jersey State Policy Lab at Rutgers University has released a first-of-its-kind report examining health, education and law enforcement factors related to marijuana usage. It’s intended to be used as a baseline to measure the impact of legalization and identify disparities among different communities." [February 2022]
NJ Marijuana Regulation
- NJ Cannabis Regulatory Commission"The CRC is the governing body responsible for regulating the current medicinal use cannabis program, as well as the personal-use cannabis program in New Jersey for adults 21 years and older. The agency launched on April 12, 2021, and will be establishing the regulations necessary for the operation of cannabis businesses in the state."
NJ Laws Passed on February 22, 2021
- New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization ActAssemby Bill A21 legalizes and regulates cannabis use and possession for adults 21 years and older. It was signed into law on February 22, 2021 as P.L. 2021, c.16.
- Criminal Justice ReformAssembly Bill A1897 "Provides for certain criminal and civil justice reforms, particularly addressing legal consequences associated with certain marijuana and hashish offenses as well as raising awareness of available expungement relief." It was signed into law on February 22, 2021 as P.L.2021, c.19.
- Marijuana and Cannabis Use and Possession Penalties for Those Under 21Assembly Bill A5342 "concerns certain regulated substances, with particular emphasis on underage possession or consumption of various forms of cannabis, including legal consequences for such activities set forth in legislation passedby both Houses of Legislature." It was signed into law on February 22, 2021 as P.L.2021, c.25.
NJ Medical Marijuana
- Medical Marijuana in NJHomepage of the Division of Medicinal Marijuana, Dept of Health, State of NJ.
- Medical Marijuana Law - New JerseyStats and facts related to New Jersey on medical marijuana and programs.
- Coalition for Medical Marijuana - New JerseyAll-volunteer public charity advocating the appropriate use of marijuana for medical purposes.
- Marijuana DispensariesBrowse marijuana stores using the maps or current listings.
- MMP Directory - NJMedical Marijuana Programs listed in NJ. Includes qualifying conditions in NJ.
NJ Resources: Addictions
For more information on state resources, see also the Research Guide on New Jersey State and Local Governments.
- Addiction Professionals Certification Board of New Jersey, Inc. (APCBNJ,Inc.)Our scope is to enhance the professionalism of Addiction and Other Health Care Professionals by offering quality certification products, to provide and monitor accepted ethical standards for consumer protection and to provide addiction and behavioral health cross training.
- Addiction Services Treatment DirectoryLearn about the types of services available in New Jersey or go directly to the searchable directory.
- Addictions Hotline of New Jersey1-844-276-2777 which provides trained clinically supervised telephone specialists who are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to educate, assist, interview and/or refer individuals and families battling addictions. Calls are free and information shared is confidential.
- Department of Human Services-Division of Mental Health and Addiction ServicesThe Division is responsible for the development, coordination and operational support of a comprehensive mental health and addiction services system.
- Governor's Council on Alcoholism and Drug AbuseThe Council executes three core functions: policy and planning; public awareness and education; and, the administration of the Alliance to Prevent Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Program.
- Office of Tobacco Control, Nutrition and FitnessFind helpful resources for quitting and prevention, as well as regulatory information and research.
- Wellspring Center for Prevention(formerly NCADD of Middlesex County, Inc.) A non-profit, community-based health organization providing prevention, education, information, and referral services to county residents, businesses, schools, faith-based organizations, municipal alliances, and social service agencies since 1980.
NJ Data | Statistics
- New Jersey Substance Abuse Monitoring System (NJSAMS) : State Summary ReportProvides data on substance abuse treatment in NJ. Searchable by county, level of service, gender, primary drug, and more. Includes data on age, race, employment status, education, and other factors.
Marijuana In New Jersey
MARIJUANA IN NEW JERSEY
Allows Medical marijuana?: Yes
Allows Adult-Use marijuana?: Yes
On March 25 2019, the vote in the State Senate to legalize marijuana in New Jersey was postponed due to lack of support, as the bill did not have enough votes to pass. On March 12, 2019, Governor Phil Murphy, Senate President Steve Sweeney, Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin, Senator Scutari, and Assemblywoman Quijano announced an agreement on broad outlines to legalize adult-use marijuana in New Jersey. Recreational marijuana would be subject to an excise tax of $42 per ounce. Municipalities where cannabis businesses are located would receive revenue from a percentage of tax on the products. Adult-use marijuana would be governed by a Cannabis Regulatory Commission. It isn’t yet clear when, if passed, the bill would go into effect. New Jersey has a small but established medical dispensary structure. It is also one of the most expensive cannabis programs, likely due to lack of competition. On March 27, 2018, Governor Murphy announced major reforms outlined in a report in response to Executive Order #6 which directed a comprehensive review of the program. Five new qualifying debilitating medical conditions were also added. The Dept. of Health will be accepting requests from existing Alternative Treatment Centers for waivers to allow satellite locations.
More on Marijuana in New Jersey
- New Jersey Cannabis InformationThis site provides timely information to help established and intending growers, manufacturers, sellers, and consumers of cannabis and cannabis products understand the current state of the industry.
- New Jersey Public Question 1, Marijuana Legalization Amendment (2020)Information regarding New Jersey's November 2020 referendum to legalize marijuana. Includes the results of the vote, but also provides information on how it got on the ballot, who supported it and who didn't, and more.
- Recreational Marijuana Statement (Dept. of Agriculture)"Regulatory agencies are awaiting the passage of the enabling legislation and the complete formation of the Cannabis Regulatory Commission."
- NJ Attorney General’s StatementIssued on Nov. 4, 2020, stating "All of the State’s criminal laws relating to marijuana continue to apply, until, among other things, the Legislature enacts a law creating that regulatory framework."
- New Jersey Hemp ProgramApproved in December, 2019 by the USDA, the program supports hemp producers to grow and sell hemp for commercial purposes. Page is maintained by the NJ Dept of Agriculture.
- New Jersey State Publications Digital LibraryIncludes hundreds of New Jersey government documents related to marijuana and cannabis.
NJ Resources: News
- NJ Cannabis InsiderA team of journalists from NJ.com and The Star-Ledger will inform you about the issues, policies, laws, regulations, politics and people. Subscription-based.
- Heady NJHeady NJ is an independent news site covering cannabis reform on the local level in New Jersey,.
- Marijuana newsMarijuana news from NJ.com.