Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Breaking News: New York Times
TIP: Click on Info symbol to read preview.
Certain business databases such as IBISWorld, Mergent Online and Business Source Premier allow you to search by North America Industry Classification System (NAICS). It may be useful to write these codes down as you find them when starting your research to help facilitate your search strategy.
NAICS is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies to classify business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. It uses a hierarchical structure comprised of main two-digit sector codes and various subsector and industry codes.
Marijuana actually falls under three hierarchies:
- 11 - Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting
- 111419 Marijuana, grown under cover
- 111998 Marijuana, grown in an open field
- 42 - Wholesale Trade
- 424590 Marijuana merchant wholesalers
- 45 - Retail Trade
- 453998 Marijuana stores, medical or recreational
NAICS is reviewed every five years for potential revisions (the last time was 2017) so that the classification system can keep pace with the changing industry. See the NAICS Update Process Sheet for more information.
Selected Books (Online - RU-restricted)
The Business of Cannabis by
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
What happens when corporate culture takes over counterculture? This book explores the contradictions present within the cannabis industry from a business and policy perspective.
Start Your Own Cannabis Business: Your Step-By-Step Guide to the Marijuana Industry by
Publication Date: 2018
It's estimated that 70 to 80 percent of startup cannabis businesses reach break-even within the first year. Pair that with cannabis sales reaching 6.7 billion in 2016 and an estimated surge of 30 billion by 2020 making the marijuana industry an unprecedented opportunity for business ventures of all sizes.
Cannabis Consulting by
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
Cannabis Consulting is both a handbook and a report from the front lines of medical marijuana use. It was written for the patients, families, law enforcement, and health professionals all trying to make decisions about cannabis at this critical era of transition.
Craft Weed by
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
How the future of post-legalization marijuana farming can be sustainable, local, and artisanal [...] As the era of marijuana prohibition comes to an end, now is the time to think about what kind of marijuana industry and marijuana agriculture we want. Craft Weed will help us plan for a future that is almost here.
Food Safety Lessons for Cannabis-Infused Edibles by
Publication Date: 2020-04-30
The book looks at the cannabis industry through a scientific lens to increase awareness and expertise in food safety within the field of cannabis-infused edibles.
Marijuana Industry News
Cannabis Business Times
It focuses on the business of legal cannabis for medical and recreational use and aims to provide timely information.
Marijuana Business Daily
US an international business news
Cannabis Industry Journal
An industry-specific eMagazine and Conference series serving the global cannabis industry.
New Cannabis Ventures
A news & information platform that highlights promising companies and influential investors in the cannabis industry.
It provides essential daily news and insights to cannabis entrepreneurs, investors, and industry participants since 2014.
Magazine for cannabis growers and retailers.
More to follow from Feedspot:
Spring 2020 special issue of The Natural Farmer, the newspaper of the Northeast Organic Farming Association with articles on the history of cannabis and organic cultivation methods.
Contains over 3,500 Company, Industry, Country and Market Analysis Reports. Browse/search by sector using the "Sectors" tab at the top to search topics such as Consumer Goods, Retail and Foodservice for business trends and analysis, or Agriculture and Forestry to find agricultural market data. Refine within each sector by typing product terms such as "marijuana" or "cannabis" in the search bar on the top left.
Features company information, including acquisitions, changes in ownership structure, subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel. Use the Supply Chain tab to search by trade/product keywords such as marijuana or cannabis to get data on a company's competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers. Select "Search Type Contains" to get wider results. Or search sector/industry hierarchies using company/ticker or NAICS codes.
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. Advanced search options include selections by geography, industry, type of investor, and the value of the deal.
Search company directories on more than 59 million U.S. businesses and employers via the U.S. Businesses module. Listings feature a variety of data points, including industry profiles, business profiles, business demographics, expenditures, and competitors, and the ability to generate lists based on any of these criteria. For example, create a list of companies growing or selling marijuana by state.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Includes information on how to plan, launch, manage and grow a small business, including market research and competitive analysis.
Contains detailed Industry Overviews organized by NAICS code as well as keyword searchable specialized industry and iExpert reports featuring market share data, top competitors, industry growth rates, outlook projections and SWOT analyses. For example, Medical and Recreational Marijuana Growing is US SPECIALIZED INDUSTRY REPORT OD4141 and Medical and Recreational Marijuana Stores is US SPECIALIZED INDUSTRY REPORT OD4142.
Product and industry market research reports covering both the U.S. and global markets in numerous niche areas. Contains comprehensive marketing and consumer research data, including information on trends, demographics, and competitive landscape. Great for marketing research, particularly consumer products. Search by keyword marijuana or cannabis to get reports such as THC vaping, Marketing to GenZ, and American Lifestyles.
Integrates statistical data on a wide variety of topics and industries from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Food industry topics range from broad (Recreational marijuana in the U.S.) to more specific (New Jersey's cannabis sales value forecast U.S. 2015-2025). Includes reports, market outlook data and infographics.
Newspaper and Journal Articles
Business Source Premier
Covers business and management topics including competitive intelligence, economics, industry profiles, marketing and product development. It contains full-text of articles from 8,000 U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Try the following subject field searches: Marijuana industry, Marijuana dispensaries, Marijuana legalization, Medical marijuana, or Marijuana abuse.
Features major global newspapers, magazines, reports, and other publications, focusing on business. Includes the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present and the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Link to the Factiva Research Guide
for assistance using this source.
Regional Business News
Includes NJBiz and Crain's New York Business, along with business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from major U.S. metropolitan areas.
Westlaw Campus Research
Includes access to Reuters news and company information from Hoover's Company Records, with profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations, and SEC Filings.
Access World News
Features full-text content from regional and international newspapers, wire services and broadcast news transcripts. Includes a database of New Jersey newspapers.
Ethnic News Watch
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.
New York Times
Create a NYTimes.com personal account to gain full access to NYTimes.com and The New York Times app. Also features the ability to sign up for newsletter alerts.
Wall Street Journal
Full-text news articles, opinion pieces, columns, blogs, financial information, reviews, and videos covering U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts. Also provides the abiltiy to sign up for newsletter alerts. For the historical archive, go to The Wall Street Journal
(ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (July 8, 1889 - 17 years prior to the current year.).
Business Librarian (New Brunswick)