Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Alcohol Studies Research Guide: Home

This guide will help you navigate Alcohol Studies Research. Find articles, books, e-resources and popular books, as well as tips for writing and citing and information regarding the special collections at Rutgers University.

Welcome to Alcohol Studies!

Updated to meet the needs to work, study, and conduct research off campus, this guide aims to help you navigate Alcohol Studies Research at Rutgers. Focusing on electronic resources, you can find articles, books, and popular titles, as well as tips for writing and citing and information regarding the special collections at Rutgers University.

Resources at a Glance

This guide will help you navigate Alcohol Studies Research at various levels.

  • You may want to begin your research on the RUL homepage in QuickSearch or by Finding Articles online.
  • Databases are the best to conduct a more thorough search or several searches in multiple databases.
  • This guide also has various other online resources under the Miscellaneous External Links tab. 
  • Once you've completed your research, use the tools and resources under the Writing/Citing tab to create your unique bibliography using RefWorks and completing your paper in MLA or APA format.

About the Alcohol Studies Collection

Formerly located in the Brinkley and Adele Smithers Hall, Busch Campus, Piscataway, New Jersey, the Center of Alcohol Studies Library, the former Information Services Division of the Center of Alcohol Studies, maintained one of the world’s largest and most comprehensive collections of English-language documents pertaining to the biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use and abuse until December 2016.

The archived pages, with lots of relevant information, are available courtesy of Internet Archive.

Recent Updates

Library Operating Status

  • Rutgers Libraries are open and operating but access to library buildings is restricted to library staff providing essential services. Public services such as reference and instruction are available online. 

Access to Library Resources

Returning Library Materials

Interlibrary Loan

  • Interlibrary loan is available. Materials can requested via ILLiad and scheduled for library pickup or home delivery. E-Borrow and UBorrow services are currently unavilable.

Research Assistance

  • Research assistance is available via live chat 10am-10pm and via email.

Former Databases

Subject Librarian

Judit Ward's picture
Judit Ward
Contact:
Library Contact for SEBS/NJAES
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
848-445-3527
Website

Credits

This LibGuide was developed at the Center of Alcohol Studies Library by librarians Judit H. Ward, James Cox, and Molly Stewart. Contributors to the Readers Advisory on Addictions in Pop Culture also include Kate Scherler and Lauren Antolino. Recents updates were added by William Bejarano, Will Haggis, and Maria Ortiz-Myers.

Please note that the Center of Alcohol Studies Library closed in December 2016.

See the archived pages of the CAS Virtual Archives.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.