Research Guides: Alcohol Studies Research Guide: Articles

Starting Research with QuickSearch

Start your searching with QuickSearch to find materials available from the Rutgers Libraries. To retrieve articles, you can narrow down your search to "Articles" in the Resource Types pulldown on the Advanced Search page. For more, see QuickSearch Help.

The record will point you to the full text of the article or government document if available online. Books and book chapters may also be available electronically.

If Rutgers doesn't have access, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID to see other options, such as Request Delivery. Follow the prompt and you will receive the resource in a short period.

Find out more about Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery
Interlibrary loan (ILL) service is available to current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff; faculty emeriti; retirees; visiting scholars and students; RBHS volunteer faculty; and Rowan and CCC affiliate to request print or electronic materials that aren't available at Rutgers. You'll receive an email when your item is ready for pickup or available to download. Turnaround time and lending policies vary by institution.
QuickSearch Help Pages
Comprehensive resource on how to use QuickSearch for researching a topic, locating and article, and finding full text.

Searching with QuickSearch: Subject

Subject terms are "tags" used for a preferred term for a particular concept, area, discipline, etc. in various databases - basically, the way a database or catalog defines a topic.

Searching by subject (instead of searching for your term in the full text of articles) can be a quick and efficient way to find resources on your topic. Subject terms may vary from database to database.

TIP: Use the Subjects listed in the left panel for your search. In alcohol studies it’ important to keep in mind that this search engine will be looking for articles in multiple databases, which might use different words for similar or identical concepts.

TIP: Once you found a few good articles, look at the "subjects" they have as tags and incorporate those terms in your next search. Use Boolean operators AND and OR to achieve the best result with your search.

Databases

PubMed
A database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Medline
widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 12 million citations from 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries.
PsycInfo
Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed.
Google Scholar
Searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites. Use Google Scholar to access full text articles available through Rutgers University Libraries via the Libraries home page.
Alcohol Studies Database
This site provides access to the Alcohol Studies Database with dates covered from 1956 to 2007. The database contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. Full text availability is for Rutgers access only where noted. The bibliographic information enables users to place requests via their own libraries.