This is a partial list of what is available.
Special Collections and University Archives has some 800 New Jersey city directories in their collection. Many of these have been cataloged; to search for cataloged New Jersey city directories, in the Library Catalog enter:
[CITY/TOWN NAME] DIRECTORIES
See above for a finding aid to the complete city directory collection.
The Rutgers Libraries also have some large compilations of New Jersey city directories on microfilm/microfiche. See above for a partial list of NJ city directories available on microfilm in the Alexander Library.
City Directories of the United States, 1860-1901 : Guide to the Microfilm Collection. -- Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, 1983, c1984.
Includes index to the contents of the two Research Publications microfilm sets (U.S. City Directories, 1861-1881 and U.S. City Directories, 1882-1901). Available?
The Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has an extensive collection of New Jersey city directories. While directories for all parts of the state are included, the collection is particularly strong for Newark and other Essex county municipalities.
The New Jersey State Library Information Center also has a large collection of New Jersey city directories. For a list of directories in all formats see:
List of Directories on Microfilm in the City & County Directories Collections of the Camden County Historical Society and the Gloucester County Historical Society. Jean D. Crescenzi. Camden, N.J. Paul Robeson Library, 1993. Available?
Summit, Milburn, Springfield
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.