Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sanborn Insurance Maps
- Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey
- Searchable by city and date. Extremely detailed, large scale plans of New Jersey cities and towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. Includes the size, outline, and often the function, of each building. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Princeton University Digitized Sanborn
- Princeton has digitized its extensive Sanborn map collection. Includes maps not available in the Digital Sanborn Maps database.
- Fire Insurance Maps from the Sanborn Map Company Archives : Late 19th century to 1990, New Jersey [microform]
- Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1992.
- 24 microfilm reels. Detailed maps of 167 New Jersey cities and towns covering the period 1945-1991. These maps were not deposited with the Library of Congress and are not duplicated in the Digital Sanborn Maps database.
Alex: Microfilm 2754
Camden: Microfilm G3811.G475S2 1992 (Reel 2 only).
- Sanborn Map of New Brunswick, New Jersey, 1886.
- Index and separate map for each section of the city.
Index (Map 1)
New Jersey Places
- The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries, 1606-1968.
- John Parr Snyder. New Jersey. Bureau of Geology and Topography. Bulletin 67. Trenton, Bureau of Geology and Topography, 1969.
- Changes in county, township, and city boundaries, with maps. Available?
- A Guide to the Literature of New Jersey Place Names.
- Donald A. Sinclair. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives, 1996.
- "An annotated and fully indexed bibliography containing 175 entries identifying information sources which pertain to place names in New Jersey on a local, regional and state-wide basis." Available?
- New Jersey Locality Search
- New Jersey local place names with corresponding municipality.
- The Origin of New Jersey Place Names.
- Trenton, New Jersey Public Library Commission, 1945.
- Origins of 930 names of New Jersey governmental and geographical subdivisions. List compiled by the New Jersey Writers Project in 1938; includes those names "whose authenticity has been reasonably established."
- New Jersey (and Pennsylvania) Place Names
- "A table showing the changes to place names in the present state of New Jersey."
Town Name Changes: Monmouth and Nearby Counties, NJ
- Place Names of Salem County, N.J.
- Josephine Jaquett and Elmer VanName. Salem, 1964. Available?
- Place Names of Salem County, N.J.
- Extensive excerpt from the above.
- New Jersey Historical Maps Portal
- This collection of digital maps includes many historic maps from Rutgers University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives. Users can browse by subject terms (e.g. agriculture or railroads) and by counties of New Jersey.
- Historical Maps of New Jersey
- Digitized maps from Rutgers Cartography plus links to other map sites.
- Map of Part of the City of New Brunswick in 1847.
- Maps the northeastern corner of New Brunswick. Includes the names of landowners.
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies