Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives has records from a number of New Jersey militia units, the majority from the Civil War period. Many of these are described in
A Guide to the Manuscript Collection of the Rutgers University Library
/ compiled by Herbert F. Smith. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Libraries, 1964. Available?
The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has an 11,000-card index, arranged by county, to burial records for New Jersey Regiment Infantry Volunteers in the U.S. Civil War. Only veterans who are buried in the state of New Jersey are included.
- Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865
- Digitized searchable version of William S. Stryker's classic work.
- Civil War Payment Vouchers, 1861-1865
- Includes soldiers' discharge certificates for final pay (over 9,300 items), affidavits of family members for pay due to deceased soldiers (over 1,400 items), and quarterly returns of the counties and cities listing the names of soldiers’ families and dependant mothers who received subsistence pay during their service.
- Register of the Commissioned Officers and Privates of the New Jersey Volunteers, in the Service of the United States.
- New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Jersey City, Printed by J. H. Lyon, 1863.
- Index to Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers Who Served in Organizations from the State of New Jersey [microform].
- Washington, National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1964.
- 26 microfilm reels.
- Contents: v. 1. A-Bar -- v. 2. Bas-Bo -- v. 3. Br-Cal -- v. 4. Cam-Com -- v. 5. Con-Dau -- v. 6. Dav-Dr -- v. 7. Du-Fh -- v. 8. Fi-Ga -- v. 9. Ge-Hal -- v. 10. Ham-He -- v. 11. Hi-Hy -- v. 12. I-Kem -- v. 13. Ken-La -- v. 14. Le-Mal -- v. 15. Mem-McG -- v. 16. McH-Moo -- v. 17. Mor-O'C -- v. 18. Od-Pl -- v. 19. Po-Ri -- v. 20. Ro-Scho -- v. 21. Schr-Sk -- v. 22. Sl-St -- v. 23. St.G-Ti -- v. 24. To-V -- v. 25. W-Wh -- v. 26. Wi-Z. Available?
- Record Group 94. Records of the Adjutant General's Office. 94.12.3 Cards Containing Medical Records and Vital Statistics
- National Archives collection includes "carded" medical records, showing name, rank, organization, complaint, name of admitting hospital, date of admittance, and other information on individuals who served in the Union army in the Civil War. Ordering information: https://www.archives.gov/research/order/textual-records-dc.html
- New Jersey Roll of Honor: Union Soldiers Interred in the Military Asylum Cemetery, D. C., 1861-1864.
- Includes name, rank, regiment, company, and date of death.